basket_text

Play Angry – A Zenless Guide to Disc Golf – Chapter 1

Note: This is part 1 in a series of posts which make up the chapters of a tongue-in-cheek look at the game of disc golf and why we love it so much, despite the lack of reciprocated affection. It is not actually intended to improve your game…unless it does…in which case we’re happy to take the credit.

Chapter 1 – Why Do We Play?

Before we dig too deeply into vast stores of experience, knowledge, and advice concerning the game of disc golf, let’s make it unmistakably clear what we’re talking about.  

“Disc Golf: A game in which a concave plastic disc is thrown into each of a series of metal baskets situated on an outdoor course, the object being to complete the course using the fewest possible throws.”

That definition is from the all-knowing internet machine. Google told me, so that pretty much settles it. I would like to point out one key part of that definition, and it’s stated in the first two words. Disc Golf is “a game”. It is not life. It is not a philosophy. It is not a state of being. It is also not as boring and cripplingly expensive as traditional ball golf. As a game, I think that we are safe to say that it is intended to be fun.

There, now that we have that simple, yet often forgotten point out of the way, let’s unleash the boundless wisdom that will make your game “better” or at least “more fun”. There are different approaches toward that goal of improvement, and I tend to gravitate toward the one that satisfies me more frequently as a player. That satisfaction isn’t necessarily based upon the results of my game, or my skill set, or my latest score, or my abysmal ranking among the growing throngs of players. It is a satisfaction that emerges after fighting a battle, having experienced the emotional roller coaster of the game, and having spent time with friends seeking a level of unrealistic proficiency that constantly eludes our grasp. When looking at the reason I love to play disc golf, the reference to a roller coaster is a perfect one. When you ride a roller coaster, there is a reason you strap yourself into that little car and hold on tight. That reason isn’t to coast smoothly into the end of the ride and get out. The reason is the rough-and-tumble thrill you seek once the ride gets going.

Another approach to the quest for improvement and satisfaction in your disc golf game is to seek a state of zen. What does that mean? Well, zen sprouts from Asian philosophy which basically promotes complete focus in becoming one with the world around you. It is a state of being that unites body and mind. It clears your vision of the world from the distortion caused by chaos or lack of focus. Now, there’s nothing wrong with that philosophy, which I’ve undoubtedly simplified to the extreme. If you want to sit in meditation and feel at peace with yourself, the world around you, and your disc golf game, then I give you my blessing. Just don’t sit in meditation on the fairway, because my disc might hit you in the face.

Perhaps the different approaches to disc golf ultimately lie in the varied hopes and goals we have toward disc golf’s role in our lives. I spread the possibilities on the table in front of me and try to be honest about the realities. When measuring disc golf’s place in my life and the reasons I play, I might give these options some consideration:

  1. I could quit my job and aim to go pro before I starve to death.
  2. I could keep my job, but ignore my non-disc golf relationships in the quest for more game time, thus nullifying any zenlike peace in my disc golf world with alienation and chaos in my home and social life.
  3. I could simply play when my schedule allows and try to pack as much fun as I can into those precious couple of hours, regardless of how well I play.

I’m sure there are more options, perhaps achieving the perfect balance, but lists are very boring… kind of like meditation, or ball golf. The more time I spend making lists and evaluating the options, the less time I have for disc golf. So, let’s move on and take a look at some of the important steps in making your disc golf game better, at least in terms of emotionally strapping yourself in for a good ride.

So, why do we play disc golf? It could be like the age-old response to the question asked of hikers, “Why do you climb the mountain?”

Answer: “Because it is there.”

Now that we know the game, and we’ve felt the joy of flinging plastic at metal chains, we have to do it. It calls to us. It taunts us. It beckons us, “Come try again.”

I actually hike too. Mountains have called to me before, but now my hiking experiences are tainted with new thoughts that I can’t seem to suppress. I can’t walk by a meadow of wildflowers, or a picturesque creek, or a sloping ravine without thinking, “a disc golf course would sure be great right there.” Heck, I can’t even stand atop a lofty peak or perilous cliff without wishing I could chuck a disc, just to watch how far it flies before diving to the ground far below.

We all have our reasons for playing. Whatever your reason, let’s focus on making it more enjoyable.

Coming Soon: Chapter 2 – “Be the Basket / Be the Disc”

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under General
vibram

Vibram Disc Golf Discs Review 2016

Vibram is a company that stands out in the disc golf market because, unlike other disc manufacturers, their discs are made of rubber rather than plastic. That makes them instantly recognizable in the shop as something different than the norm. Often when players first pick up a Vibram disc, they aren’t sure what to think.  The flexibility stands out (especially if the disc is X-Link Soft) and the rubber material is a bit more grippy and less “slick” than premium plastics. That alone may be a turn off to some players, just because it doesn’t “feel normal” when compared to other discs. But I’ve found that that initial judgement often becomes favorable once the players actually throws the disc.

Vibram flight ratings are a bit cryptic when compared to the usual 4-number ratings that are well established in the disc golf market. Vibram rates their “speed” in terms of the desired “launch speed” in miles-per-hour to achieve maximum distance, and then they rate the turn and fade in terms of expected degree of turn. Their flight chart is visually more easily understood than the numbers themselves. The discs on the left side of the chart are more overstable, and they progress to the right side of the chart with the more understable discs.  The discs at the top are the highest speed distance drivers, then the next row down are the fairway drivers, then the mid-range discs, and the putters at the bottom.

Vibram discs are made in three basic rubber types: X-Link Soft, X-Link Medium, and X-Link Firm. Other “special effects” are variations of those, including X-Link Glow or Granite (which is usually in medium).

So, if their mysterious ratings and numbers confuse you, just stick to the simplicity of the chart.

THE ONYX

The only disc that perhaps is a little out-of-place on the chart is the Onyx, which though it is certainly understable, is actually designed as a beginner-friendly disc. The Onyx is only manufactured in light weights between about 135g and 156g. It is one of the best drivers I’ve ever come across for beginning players. I’ve seen players both young and old pick up a light-weight Onyx and throw it much further than anything else they’ve tried. It is also a wonderful disc for women who struggle to throw with the same power as their male counterparts.  Though it would mess up the symmetry of the chart, I’d put the Onyx between the fairway drivers and distance drivers and call it a light-weight distance driver for beginning players.  Of course, seasoned players who throw with a lot of power will most likely flip the Onyx over when trying to crank it onto the fairway. But when thrown with a hyzer angle and a tame, controlled release, even experienced players can have fun with the Onyx as a utility disc.

THE LACE

The Lace is the signature distance driver in the Vibram arsenal. It is only slightly overstable and meant to fly long distances for experienced players.  It is easy to control, though it might fade early for new players. I’ve seen seasoned players throw the Lace for the first time and surprise themselves with throws well over 400 feet when they hadn’t expected much at all.  As long as the Lace keeps it’s velocity, it will keep flying a pleasantly straight line.  However, if the Lace still fades too much for certain players, then the UnLace will quickly remedy that situation.

THE UNLACE

The Unlace was the first Vibram disc to flat-out impress me.  It is the most understable of the Vibram distance drivers, and it lives up to the name by stubbornly resisting the fade for longer than almost any other distance driver I’ve used. When thrown by new or intermediate players who struggle to achieve distance, they usually find themselves suddenly able to throw further, more controlled shots.  I highly recommend the UnLace to newer players who have a steady, smooth throwing technique, but who simply haven’t found the power yet for long drives.  It is also a great utility disc when a player wants to hug the understable side in their flight path. When thrown too hard, a seasoned player will probably overpower the UnLace and flip it over, so in their case, reaching for the Lace is a better choice.

THE O-LACE

The overstable distance driver in the Vibram arsenal is the O-Lace, which is designed for a solid fade. In the case of an experienced player overpowering even a Lace, the O-Lace is a good solution. It has a predictable fade, but in my own experience, I found that when I wanted an overstable turn, without fail, I preferred the Solace.

THE SOLACE

The Solace is the most overstable of the Vibram distance drivers, and it works wonderfully for solid, predictable turns. Though not necessarily friendly for the beginning player, it is a great utility disc for curving around obstacles, approaching targets from the side, and hyzer-bombing.  In my own bag, I skip the O-Lace as the least of the Vibram drivers, but find regular use for the UnLace, Lace, and Solace.

THE ARCH and THE VALLEY

I’m sharing a spot in this review with the Arch and the Valley because when I throw them, I can hardly distinguish the difference between the two. The Valley is supposed to be the straight-line fairway / control driver, and the Arch is supposed to be slightly more overstable, but with my own throwing style, they seem to fly an identical pattern.  They are indeed accurate, quality control drivers. I only feel the need for one or the other, but not both. For a real difference in flight patterns, look to the Notch and the Vamp.

THE NOTCH

The Notch adequately fills the role of overstable fairway / control driver.  It isn’t the most overstable driver I’ve thrown, but it does the job when I need a predictable drive to the basket around trees or other obstacles.  The fade is not the most overwhelming, but is predictable and steady.

THE VAMP

I’m a big fan of the Vamp, for some of the same reasons I love the UnLace. As an understable fairway driver, it is very forgiving to newer and intermediate players. But in my case, I use it for very workable anhyzer turns. Since I throw back-hand and avoid forehand throws, I need to make turns to the understable side by throwing with an anhyzer angle, and the Vamp is a perfect disc for that purpose. When released at the right angle, it will not only make the initial turn, but will flatten out and continue to glide for quite a distance before lightly fading out. Because of the Vamp’s ability to turn to the understable side without flipping over and prematurely crashing to the ground, it earns a well deserved permanent place in my bag.

THE IBEX

The Ibex is Vibram’s equivalent of the very popular Discraft Buzzz mid-range. It is an easy-to-throw, straight-flying mid-range disc that prides itself in dependability and precision. It’s a great upshot disc that won’t drift too far before settling near the target. It is one of those discs that quietly goes about doing its job.

THE OBEX

If the Ibex is the equivalent of the Discraft Buzzz, then the Obex is the equivalent of the Discraft Drone. It is also very dependable and predictable in its turn. It is not stunningly overstable, but gets the job done for gentle, short-range curve shots and turns.

THE SOLE

Among the different Vibram putters, the Sole is probably the most popular. It is a good, precision putter and is often preferred in X-Link Soft rubber because the material is so pliable that it seems to hug the chains and doesn’t roll too far if the putt is missed. It is a go-to disc for ultra-soft putters.  The same could be said for other Vibram putters, but of the four, I found the SOLE to be the most comfortable for me, and in the putter world, it is almost all based on how the disc “feels” to the player.

 

Other Vibram putters include THE VP, THE RIDGE, and THE SUMMIT

As a quick note on the rubber types ranging from soft to firm…I have always found myself preferring X-Link Medium. It is soft enough to have a unique, semi-pliable feel, but not so soft as to fold and lose its shape.  The X-Link Soft, with the exception of the putters where I like the soft, is just too soft for drivers. I’ve met players who love the soft rubber, even when throwing for distance, but I find it almost distracting when it looks like the disc is bending under it’s own weight as I grip it. I’ve heard it said that the soft rubber is better in the winter when it is actually more firm, to which I reply, why not just get firm if that’s what you want? Why freeze the soft rubber to have a firm disc?  The X-Link Firm rubber is also quite nice and feels the closest to traditional plastic.

In summary, I am a believer in Vibram discs and recommend them to players on a regular basis. The Lace is a wonderful distance driver. The UnLace is a great distance driver for those who need a more forgiving disc that won’t fade too soon. You can hand the UnLace to somebody throwing 200-250 feet and they’ll instantly pick up an extra fifty feet on their throw. The Vibram fairway drivers and mid-range discs can be work horses and fly exactly as designed. Another plus for Vibram discs is that they don’t seem to wear out. The rubber does not scuff and ding and dent like plastic. They’ll last you a very long while and most likely will earn a respected place in your bag.

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under Disc Brands,Disc Golf Disc Reviews,Distance Drivers,Fairway Drivers,Mid Range,Putters Tags: , , , ,
20160618_104820

Best Disc Golf Discs for Beginners (2016)

Are you new to the game of disc golf, or are you bringing a friend or family member to the course who hasn’t played before? Though the game of disc golf has a very fast learning curve and new players can quickly feel adequate, it certainly helps to put the right kinds of discs into the hands of new players to avoid unnecessary frustration.  Unlike other sports where one ball is pretty much like another, disc golf discs can have huge variation in design and purpose, which can often leave a new player wondering where to start. With the wrong discs, the game can seem difficult to pick up. But with the right discs, new players can quickly work on their technique without the discs causing an unexpected disadvantage.

The first little piece of information to keep in mind is that disc weight matters. Most new players will benefit from a lighter weight disc, unless they are athletic from the start and throwing comes naturally. This is especially true with women and youth. But what is a heavy disc? What is a light disc?

20160615_092001Discs are weighed in grams. When you look at discs in the shop, or online at places like Infinite Discs, you will see that the weight is listed for each disc. That weight is usually marked on the back of each disc. When I was a new player, I completely ignored those numbers, feeling it must not be important. But it is!  If you’re looking at discs that are 170g and up, they are usually considered heavier discs or “max weight”. The larger the diameter of the disc, the heavier they can be and still be PDGA approved for the game. Thus, mid-range discs or oversized discs can be as heavy as 180g and up. A good intermediate range is 150g – 169g. The lower weights in the 130g – 149g range are considered very light, but there are more and more discs being produced in that range now.  Innova even makes some of their popular drivers like the DX Leopard and DX Valkyrie  in weights as low as 110g which is actually perfect for young children who want to give the game a try.

When you’re a new player, you’ll be able to throw lighter weight discs further than the heavy ones. The heavy discs might fade sooner than you want because you don’t yet have the technique and power to make them go the distance. The closer you are to your target, the less the weight matters, so light weight mid-range discs are not quite as important as light weight drivers. Light weight putters are hardly necessary.

Another very important element in beginner-friendly discs is the stability rating. A beginner generally is favored by “understable” discs rather than “overstable” discs. Here is an easy way to remember what understable and overstable means: If you are right-handed, and throwing backhand, and you’re lining up sideways to throw at the target, then the disc will naturally want to fade to the left. That is the overstable side– the side that you are facing. The right side, or the side behind you is the “understable” side. If you’re throwing left-handed and backhand, then reverse those sides. If you’re throwing forehand, then reverse them again. A right-handed forehand throw will want to fade to the right, which is then the overstable side. The left-handed forehand throw will want to fade to the left which is now the overstable side.  Basically, discs naturally fade to the overstable side.

Graphic

An overstable disc will exaggerate the natural fade of the disc. That is rough on beginners because a they generally have a hard time throwing a disc straight until they become better at a flat, powerful release. They will usually throw the disc so that is fades sooner than desired, so an overstable disc exaggerates that weakness. Throwing an understable disc will “fight the fade” longer, pulling to the understable side before finally fading, giving the new player more distance. When looking at the 4-number disc flight ratings, the last two numbers are important. These are the four numbers usually displayed:

Speed
Glide
Turn
Fade

The “turn” number should be in the negatives for an understable disc. The Fade will almost always be positive, because discs naturally fade to the overstable side. But the less fade, the better for beginners.  When the last two numbers add up to a zero sum, or a negative sum, then the disc is more forgiving to beginners.  For example, a Turn -2, Fade 1, is understable (-2 + 1 = -1).  A disc with the last two numbers of -3 and 1 would be even more understable (-3 + 1 = -2). A disc with the last two numbers of -2 and 2 means it should fly generally straight because the sum is zero. That is a simplified way to judge the understable vs. overstable flight ratings on a disc.

With all of that being said, let’s take a look at ten discs that are friendly for beginners. Check out their flight ratings, and use those numbers as a guide to help you explore even more discs that would work for novice players or for those who are struggling to find more distance in their game.

ONYX by Vibram

  • Speed: 8.0
  • Glide: 6.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0

As you can see by the flight rating, this is an understable disc, with a turn of -3 and a fade of 1. But the other fun thing about the Onyx is that it is made only in lighter weights. Generally the weight ranges from 135g – 155g. This disc was designed with beginners in mind. I’ve seen new players throw the Onyx further than anything else they’ve tried. I’ve also seen women celebrate the fact that they finally don’t feel completely outgunned by their male counterparts. Once they stop throwing those heavy discs and start throwing an Onyx, things seem to go better for them. The Onyx is a bit more expensive than some other brands, because Vibram makes discs out of rubber, rather than plastic. But it is worth the price because rubber can take a beating and doesn’t wear out or get scraped up like plastic.

DIAMOND by Latitude 64

  • Speed: 8.0
  • Glide: 6.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0

The Diamond is a wonderful driver for beginners, especially when purchased in the Opto Air plastic, which is very light weight. Opto Air Diamond discs are generally in the high 130g range. But you can also find Diamonds in other plastic types in the 150g – 169g range which is still very workable for new players.  The Diamond is also very popular with women players, and it is part of a line of discs by Latitude 64 with these players in mind.

PEARL by Latitude 64

  • Speed: 5.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -4.0
  • Fade: 1.0

Since you don’t only need drivers, and midrange discs are a big part of the game, here is a nice Pearl to go with your Diamond. The Pearl is light weight for a midrange, and pleasantly understable. I’ve seen it used by beginning players as a driver while they are learning control and throwing technique.

PROOF by Dynamic Discs

  • Speed: 5.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0

The Proof is a new mid-range by Dynamic Discs that is designed for the beginner. Again, it is understable enough to be very forgiving for the beginning player, and another nice feature is the price when purchased in affordable Prime plastic. The cheaper plastics are fine for beginners. It allows you to learn and get a feel for which discs you like the most before spending twice as much on premium plastics.

AVENGER SS by Discraft

  • Speed: 10.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0

The Avenger SS was the “super straight” version of the popular Avenger distance driver by Discraft. When I was a new player, it was the first driver with which I was able to get any meaningful distance. When purchased in Pro-D plastic it is also very affordable and can be found in light weights in the 150g – 169g range. I ended up loving my Pro-D Avenger SS so much that I eventually bought a more durable version in Titanium plastic that lasted for years and still sits among my disc treasures.

SAIL by DGA

  • Speed: 11.0
  • Glide: 6.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0

The Sail is a disc that I have seen revolutionize the game for some players. Once I had a husband/wife team come into the shop and I recommended the Sail for the woman who felt like she could never keep up with her enthusiastic husband on the fairway.  She returned three days later only to say “thank you!” For the first time, she was able to match her husband’s distance, simply because she picked up a disc that was understable and has a wonderful glide for great distance.  The Sail is a “speed 11” disc so it does take a little more power to get greater distances, but it is a wonderful distance driver once you get the throwing motion down. I also have a friend who went through shoulder surgery and was not able to throw at full strength for a while, but he was able to match his old distances by simply throwing a Sail instead of the old, overstable drivers he’d used before the injury.  It is also a disc that I still use regularly in my own bag. Since I do not throw forehand, I use it for long-distance anhyzer shots to make my right-hand turns. I can get it to turn and fly quite a distance before it even tries to fade. So even for experienced players, the Sail can be a great utility disc.

AQUARIUS by Millenium

  • Speed: 10.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -4.0
  • Fade: 2.0

Not only does the Aquarius fly wonderfully for newer players, being an easy to control distance driver, but it also caters to the fears of many new players…water hazards!  The Aquarius is made out of a buoyant plastic that floats in water. So, if your throw goes astray and you splash into that pond or lake, the disc will float, making it easier to find and retrieve. The plastic is also light weight, and that is a plus for beginners.

LEOPARD by Innova

  • Speed: 6.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -2.0
  • Fade: 1.0

The Leopard is a standard for beginners and is a popular disc in many of Innova’s starter sets. It is a disc that is very easy to control. Though it is not built for great distances, it can be very accurate for shorter drives, and that is helpful when working on form and technique. The Leopard in DX plastic is the most affordable, and the best for beginners. There are even DX Leopards in weights as light as 110g for children who want to give disc golf a try. That’s probably too light for any adult player, but great for the little tykes!

STRATUS by Discraft

  • Speed: 5.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0

Like the Leopard, the Stratus is an easy to control disc for shorter drives and the feel of the rim and the disc lends itself well to players who are accustomed to traditional frisbees. It is easy to throw and doesn’t need a lot of power to get the job done.  Again, the Stratus can also be a nice utility disc for anhyzer turns to the understable side when used by experienced players. So, it can keep working for players even after their driving skills increase.

MAMBA by Innova

  • Speed: 11.0
  • Glide: 6.0
  • Turn: -5.0
  • Fade: 1.0

The Mamba is one of Innova’s most understable distance drivers. If you’re a new or experienced player that has trouble getting a flat release, this disc is so understable that it often pops right up and flies great. It is a higher speed disc, which can be troublesome for beginners who don’t have a lot of power, but once you get the release down, you’ll find that the Mamba is very forgiving. It is a nice step up from some of the slower drivers, yet still workable for the developing player.

Now that you know what to look for when selecting discs for beginning players, you can browse websites or store shelves and look at those disc flight ratings and make a good choice.  Generally speaking, don’t get the very high-speed drivers for beginners (I wouldn’t recommend the 12-15 speed discs for new players). Then remember to pay attention to the turn (negative for understable) and fade.

You can use a tool like the Disc Comparison Matrix on Infinite Discs’s website to look at discs with different speeds and levels of stability.  You can also use the Advanced Disc Search feature and check-mark the Flight Rating box to pull up a search feature that allows you to type in the flight ratings you want. You’ll get a list of discs that match.

Have fun out there!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under Disc Golf Disc Reviews,Understable Discs Tags: , , , , , , , ,
20160603_141859

10 Best-Selling Distance Drivers (2015 – 2016)

It is time to look back at the last year, from June of 2015 to June of 2016 and see which Distance Drivers were the top sellers.  This ranking is based on discs sold through the InfiniteDiscs.com online store and does not take into account the sales through other retailers, but it does give a very nice overview of general disc popularity for that time period. Some discs will get a spurt in sales because they are new, and the longer-term sales figures will bare out whether or not those discs had long-term popularity.

In this ranking, the discs were separated in number of sales not only by disc model, but also by plastic type. Thus, a Destroyer in Star plastic would be ranked separately from a Destroyer in Champion plastic, etc. This should also help cast light on the more popular plastics for certain discs.  So, without further ado, here is where the discs fell in the ranks:

#1  Star DESTROYER by Innova

It is probably no surprise to most players that the Destroyer on Star plastic is the top-selling distance driver. It has a great reputation, is used by well-known professionals, and has momentum and recognition. On top of that, it is indeed a great driver for amateur and competitive players. The Destroyer sells well in other plastics, but does not enter the chart again until #16 in Blizzard plastic.

#2 Pinnacle OUTLAW by Legacy

The Outlaw is one of those discs that enjoyed a large number of orders in a short period of time, jumping it all the way to the number two spot. It is indeed a popular new distance driver, and the sales in Pinnacle plastic were boosted by a slew of limited edition stamps, appealing highly to Legacy fans and disc collectors. If you’re going to bomb a disc out there with flight ratings nearly identical to a Destroyer, then you might as well make it a sexy, collectible disc that is just as fun to hang on your wall as to put into your bag.

 

 

 

#3 Gold Line SAINT by Latitude 64

The Saint is on the slower side of the spectrum for a distance driver, at a “speed 9” crossing over into the realm of fairway driver. But it is a very popular and dependable driver that sells consistently, working wonderfully for players at all skill levels. It is no wonder that the Saint shows up in the top 10 twice!

 

#4 Neutron INTERTIA by MVP

MVP has been picking up steam lately with increasingly popular tournament events and a solid line of discs that model their unique GYRO™ Overmold Technology. The ultra-durable rims are chemically bonded to the inside plastic, giving the discs an instantly recognizable identity.  The Inertia is about a “speed 11” and considered a straight-shooting driver for long, S-curve flights.

#5 Neutron WAVE by MVP

In the number 5 spot, right after its little brother, the Wave distance driver is a higher speed disc, rated at “speed 12” while also being moderately stable. Many players consider the Wave to be a great forehand driver and find it easier to control than some other distance drivers on the market.

#6 Opto SAINT by Latitude 64

Claiming a second spot in the top 10, the Saint appears again at number six in Opto plastic, showing how popular this disc has been during the last year as a go-to disc for players at all levels. Again, it could be called a fairyway diver rather than a distance driver, but fits the bill well for both.

 

 

#7 Fission PHOTON by MVP

The Photon is a distance driver with a very flat profile and a solid, overstable flight path. Like some of the other MVP drivers, it is popular for forehand (side-arm) throwers.  It’s the popular big brother of the Tesla distance driver.

#8 GStar COLOSSUS by Innova

The Colossus is a new distance driver by Innova that boasts the manufacturer’s first “speed 14” rating. It is also designed to have an understable release to help the “newer players” achieve more distance before the final fade.  The player reviews are mixed, with some players saying that they can get an extra 50 feet of distance with the Colossus in hand, while others claim that the driver really isn’t usable to the newer player because you have to throw it so hard to get the desired flight path. That could be said for many of the high-speed drivers in the 14 range. Often you exchange distance for accuracy when you throw a fast disc.  Regardless of opinion, players have been anxious enough to give the Colossus a try that it earned the #8 spot on the best-selling list for the past year.

 

#9 Star WRAITH by Innova 

The Wraith is a well liked, oversteable distance driver from Innova that seasoned players love to throw for a nice blend of distance and accuracy.  Like with the Destroyer, the most popular plastic for the Wraith is Innova’s premium Star plastic.

#10 Opto RAKETEN by Latitude 64

The Raketen is a newer distance driver from Latitude 64 that was designed to be less overstable than the other “speed 15” disc from the manufacturer, the Missilen. Apparently that makes it easier to throw for the novice? The disc has an interesting, textured surface that is intended to make the disc faster. But seriously…a “speed 15” disc is a tall order, and though it sold well when initially released, the sales have slowed considerably since the release. When it boils down to it, there aren’t many players that have use for a disc of this nature. It’s more of a case where people pick it up out of curiosity or pure novelty. “I wonder if I can throw this…” Just find a big, open field, and give it a rip! Do I hear a “speed 16” anyone?

Now, just in case you’re curious, here are the discs that hold the #11 through #15 positions:

#11 Icon OUTLAW by Legacy
#12 Champion FIREBIRD by Innova
#13 Blizzard BOSS by Innova
#14 Star VALKYRIE by Innova
#15 Champion TERN by Innova

And if you’re interested in knowing which distance drivers currently have sales momentum, moving up into the higher ranks, selling exceptionally well during the last 90 days, here are some discs to watch out for:

S-Line DDX by Discmania – This thing has sold so well since it was newly released that Infinite Discs has a hard time keeping them in stock. It seems everybody wants one.  The flight ratings on the DDX are almost identical to a Destroyer, but with less fade (fade 2 instead of fade 3).

Tournament (and VIP) DESTINY by Westside – This is another “speed 14” long-bomb disc with an understable release and strong fade. People are getting a lot of distance with the Destiny and the sales are not slowing down.

Neutron VANISH by Axiom – This is one of the latest distance drivers by Axiom and it is a comfortably understable disc, making it workable for many skill levels. It sold very well upon its release and sports the cool, limited edition “1616” stamp.

 

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Posted under Disc Brands,Disc Golf Disc Reviews,Distance Drivers,General,New Discs Tags: , , , , , ,

New Disc Golf Discs – Spring 2016 Review

As the summer months approach, it is time for the seasonal slew of new disc releases to keep our selection of plastic fresh and exciting. Here is a rundown of a few of the new discs that you may want to explore this summer:

DEFENDER by Dynamic Discs

  • Speed: 13.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: 0.0
  • Fade: 3.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Advanced, Intermediate

 

 

 

 

 

Though I’m not personally adept with higher speed discs in the 13-15 range, I found the Defender to be a solid new disc for long, overstable throws. I was able to get respectable distance even though I typically do better with slower discs. If you’re an experienced player and have the arm to whip the Defender out there, then you’ll really like the result. If you’re a beginner, then there are other drivers you may want to try first.

KNIGHT by Latitude 64

  • Speed: 14.0
  • Glide: 4.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 4.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Everyone

 

 

The Knight is another high-speed disc with a solid, overstable fade. However, it is more understable on initial release, so it flew a nice S-curve pattern when I threw it. It has a wide rim and feels slightly different. I don’t do a lot of forehand flicking, but this disc flew quite well for an associate of mine that has a really strong flick throw. Latitude 64 puts out some great discs, and though the Knight is more for the intermediate to advanced players, it is a solid addition to their family of discs.

DDX by Dismania

  • Speed: 12.0
  • Glide: 6.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Intermediate, Everyone

 

 

Here is a new distance driver that really felt good to me. The speed 12 is a great fit for my personal limitations and abilities. The disc has a really nice glide, which keeps it up in the air when I throw it, plus the understable release that transitions into a nice fade. I can get a really good S-curve flight pattern with the DDX and felt a lot more comfortable with it than some of the higher-speed, more overstable discs. I’d definitely recommend this disc to the intermediate player. It would even work fine with a developing new player who wants to practice getting some nice distance. Compare it to an Innova Destroyer, but with less fade.

VANISH by Axiom (note: Also available with limited stamp)

  • Speed: 12.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Understable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Everyone

 

 

 

 

I enjoyed throwing the Vanish and was able to do some different things depending on the angle of my wrist during release. When throwing it with a hyzer angle, it flipped up nicely and covered some good distance. However, if you’ve got a strong arm and really try to whip this disc out onto the fairway, it may flip over on you because it has an understable release. All in all, the Vanish is a good addition to the unique Axiom family.

UNDERTAKER by Discraft (note: Now available in Ledgestone Glow Z plastic)

  • Speed: 9.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 3.0
  • Primary Use: Control Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Advanced, Intermediate

 

 

The Undertaker is a beefy fairway driver that can really hold a line nicely, even in somewhat windy conditions. It didn’t feel understable to me on the release, despite the -1 rating. I felt like I could throw this disc quite straight for an accurate shot within reasonable distances, though I had to be aware of a strong fade at the end of the flight. The Undertaker will make a sudden turn once it loses velocity. It’s a great disc for shorter, precision drives and flies well in the wind.

ONYX by Vibram (note: Light-weight discs great for beginners)

  • Speed: 8.0
  • Glide: 6.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 1.0
  • Primary Use: Control Driver
  • Stability: Understable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Beginner

 

 

The Onyx is probably the best disc I’ve seen lately for beginning players who don’t have their throwing technique down yet, or for women players or even children who are just getting a feel for the sport. That isn’t meant as a negative observation at all.  In fact, I’ve seen several women overjoyed with the distance that they were able to get with the light-weight Onyx.  I wouldn’t recommend this disc for the advanced player, who really wouldn’t have a need for something so understable and light, but it can completely change the game of disc golf for those groups who want a disc that will stand up and fly effortlessly even with little experience. Thank you, Vibram, for making a driver that can fill a void in a market often lacking discs for the novice player! The Onyx is available generally in weights between 135g and 155g.

A2 by Prodigy

  • Speed: 4.0
  • Glide: 4.0
  • Turn: 0.0
  • Fade: 3.0
  • Primary Use: Mid Range, Putt & Approach
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Advanced, Intermediate

 

 

The “A” series discs by Prodigy are designed to be hybrids between putters and mid-range discs. They have a thinner profile than most putters, but aren’t quite as large as some mid-range discs. The A2 is an overstable disc and will turn rather quickly after the release. Don’t turn to it for a precision putt, nor should you turn to it for a long drive. But it works nicely as a utility disc that can turn around obstacles and set you down where you want to be within short distances. I’d recommend the disc for advanced players who need to fill that niche in their bag.

AQUARIUS by Millenium (Note: This disc floats on water)

  • Speed: 10.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -4.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Understable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, Everyone

 

 

 

Let’s face it– floating discs are something of a novelty. There are a few around to help comfort the aquaphobic player who hates seeing their disc sink when accidentally thrown into a water hazard. I’ve seen players lose many discs to the depths in windy conditions on certain courses. The Aquarius floats and can blow back to shore for easy retrieval.  But on top of that little novelty, the Aquarius actually flies quite well as a distance driver.  It won’t break any distance records, and it is a bit on the understable side for the advanced player, but it will cover respectable distances with great accuracy. I would highly recommend the Aquarius to beginning players who want a basic distance driver that is easy to throw.

MIRAGE by Innova

  • Speed: 3.0
  • Glide: 4.0
  • Turn: -3.0
  • Fade: 0.0
  • Primary Use: Putt & Approach
  • Stability: Understable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, Everyone

 

 

The Mirage is marketed as a putt and approach disc, but I’d say that the emphasis is on the approach. It flies straight and true for longer distances than most putters, while pulling to the understable side when released with more snap.  It could be used nicely as a midrange for a beginning player or to bridge the gap between a midrange and a putter. It actually looks almost identical to an Innova Wedge and serves a similar purpose.

GRYM X by Kastaplast

  • Speed: 13.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Stable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Advanced, Intermediate

 

 

I’m not sure about the flight numbers on the Grym X because it feels and flies like a more beefy overstable disc than the numbers indicate. I’d probably give it a Turn: 0 and Fade: 3.  I struggled to get too much distance before the fade, but I watched an advanced player throw the Grym X for what seemed like a half mile.  I would highly recommend this disc for the intermediate to advanced player looking for a strong, overstable distance driver.

HABIT by Plastic Addicts (Note: Over-sized putter)

  • Speed: 3.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 0.0
  • Primary Use: Putt & Approach
  • Stability: Understable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, Everyone

 

 

Though I wouldn’t expect to be wowed by a putter, I have to admit that the Habit was one of my favorite new discoveries of the Spring 2016 season. Plastic Addicts is a new company introducing discs to the market this year, and the Habit is one of the more unique putters I’ve seen lately.  When you pick it up, you’ll instantly notice how much bigger it is than the typical putter.  Because of the added size, the disc is also available in weights into the low 180g range (I now throw a 181g Habit).  The true appeal of the Habit is the fact that it can hold a straight line and float longer than many putters, without as much effort. I found that I didn’t need to kick and push so much on longer putts because the Habit could fly true with just the flick of the wrist. Maybe it’s because of my affection for old-school frisbee, but the oversized Habit putter just feels great to me.

INTERVENTION by Plastic Addicts

  • Speed: 12.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 4.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Advanced

 

 

Along with the Habit putter, Plastic Addicts released a flagship driver.  The Intervention is true to the flight ratings, releasing with a nice straight-line flight while finishing with a very strong fade.  While it is a solid, dependable driver for overstable needs and would be a welcome addition to the bag of any intermediate and advanced player, I didn’t find it as much as a stand-out disc as the Habit putter. But I am excited to see what else comes out of the Plastic Addicts line.

ROCKET by Prodiscus

  • Speed: 9.0
  • Glide: 4.0
  • Turn: 0.0
  • Fade: 3.0
  • Primary Use: Control Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Advanced, Intermediate

 

 

The Prodiscus line of discs from Finland are solid, predictable discs. The Rocket works well as a shorter range diver with a solid fade. I didn’t get the opportunity to throw it much, but I’m told that it is quite similar to another disc by Prodiscus called the Titan.

DEFY by Axiom (Note: Also available with limited stamp)

  • Speed: 12.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Stable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Intermediate

 

 

 

I was able to get some good distance out of the Defy when I picked up a lighter weight version in (about 168g).  It seemed the fade was a bit stronger than advertised. I got more distance releasing with an anhyzer angle.  It is less understable than the new Vanish, and continues to build on the Axiom line of distance drivers. I still love the limited 1616 stamp too.

OCTANE by MVP

  • Speed: 13.0
  • Glide: 5.0
  • Turn: -1.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Stable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Intermediate

 

 

 

 

The Octane, along with the Nitro, introduce a new line of wider-rimmed discs from MVP, designed for higher speed and more distance. Apparently there was a lot of demand from MVP fans to make high-speed discs.  The rim doesn’t feel strange to me at all.  It was comfortable to throw. With my own distance limitations I was able to throw the Octane about as far as a lot of other stable distance drivers. I think that MVP fans will find it a great addition to their bags.

NITRO by MVP

    • Speed: 13.0
    • Glide: 5.0
    • Turn: -1.0
    • Fade: 2.0
    • Primary Use: Distance Driver
    • Stability: Overstable
    • Recommended Skill Level: Intermediate

 

 

 

 

Though the numbers provided for the Nitro at the time of this post are identical to those of the Octane, I feel comfortable in saying that the Nitro is slightly less overstable. I could consistently land the Nitro a good twenty feet further than the Octane with my intermediate arm strength. If I had to choose between one or the other, I’d take the Nitro for my own throwing style. I’d rate it slightly less “advanced” than the Octane. It is also part of the new wider rimmed releases by MVP.

TRAVELER by Full Turn

  • Speed: 9.0
  • Glide: 4.0
  • Turn: 0.0
  • Fade: 2.0
  • Primary Use: Distance Driver
  • Stability: Overstable
  • Recommended Skill Level: Everyone

 

 

Full Turn is a new company on the scene, and they’re working with Prodiscus to manufacture and put out a new line of discs. Thus, the plastic feels like Prodiscus plastic.  I have to admit that I loved throwing the Traveler by Full Turn. I found this disc to be very accurate as a shorter distance driver. Whenever I released the Traveler with a low, flat release, it flew like a laser-beam in a perfectly straight line, only fading right at the end with a little dump to the overstable side. I feel like I could throw this disc with pin-point accuracy at a target. As a fan of the finesse game, I am now lusting after the Traveler and feel like I’d use it regularly.

Well, there is a look at some of the newest discs on the market as we head into the summer of 2016. I’m sure that I’ve missed a few here, but I hope that this guide helps to give you an idea of what each disc is like. Of course, the opinions are my own, and we all know that the feel and performance of different discs is often a very personal matter. The discs that I love for my own style may differ from yours, so I’d encourage you to try them out and share your own input and opinions in the comments.

Here is a quick summary for beginners — You’re safe with the Aquarius, Onyx, Mirage and Habit
For me– I’ll be throwing a lot more of the DDX, Undertaker, Traveler, and Habit
For the advanced player– Give a rip to the Defender, Grym X, Intervention, Octane, Nitro, and A2 as a utility disc.

 

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under Disc Golf Disc Reviews,General Tags: , , , , , ,
logo

New Discs By Plastic Addicts – Habit and Intervention

On April 4th, 2016, the PDGA approved the two flagship disc releases by one of the newest disc producers on the market, PLASTIC ADDICTS.  Many new disc makers roll out a putter as one of their first discs, which is often a safe move, since everybody needs putters, and players are often forgiving of a disc that really doesn’t have to do much more than keep a straight line for a few feet. The HABIT is the new putter by Plastic Addicts, but it actually has a lot to offer as a new putter on the market. HabitI and my coworkers were all very happy with the Habit from the moment we picked it up. It boasts a larger diameter than most putters, and because of that larger diameter it is available in larger weights, some just over 180 grams.  Yet it doesn’t feel overly bulky or imposing. It feels more like…well…a frisbee. It is comfortable in the hand, and the plastic is sturdy, yet flexible.

Once I actually threw the Habit, I knew I’d found something special. This disc flew straight and steady, with a nice glide. It felt as if I didn’t need to focus so much on pushing the disc forward to get any distance. Just a little wrist action and the disc took off like a champ, almost effortlessly for something that seems so large at first glance. I was able to hit some putts from beyond my comfortable range without having to attempt a jump putt.

The Habit can easily be used as an approach disc as well. I did try ripping it as a driver without much luck. Since it is touted as an “understable putter”, it flipped over once any power was applied. But as a putter, it is a true jewel that makes a unique and pleasant contribution to the myriads of putters out there. I am now using the Habit as my go-to putter.

The second flagship offering from Plastic Addicts is an overstable driver called the INTERVENTION. InterventionUpon picking up this new driver, I expected it to feel like Elite Z plastic from Discraft, since Plastic Addicts uses Discraft to manufacture their new discs. However, it felt more pliable and less rigid than Elize Z plastic. Plastic Addicts calls this plastic “Top Line” and I think it has a very comfortable feel that is a nice mix between durable and grippy.  Plus, on the aesthetic side, a good number of the discs have a little sparkle in the plastic, like very fine glitter, giving the discs a subtle gleam.

Once I had the opportunity to throw the Intervention, I quickly found that the disc is exactly as described. It is a driver with a solid fade. It is no doubt overstable. I don’t have the strongest throwing arm, so the disc faded earlier than I would have liked. Other coworkers were able to get more distance, but still with a solid fade. Though I can definitely see uses for such a disc in any bag, I can also honestly say that there are a lot of drivers out there that would fill the exact same purpose. Overstable drivers aren’t a rarity in the market. The Intervention is yet another solid, overstable driver. But unlike the Habit putter, it doesn’t necessarily shine as a unique new contributor. Of course, if you pick it up and you really like the feel of it, and you need a disc with its flight properties, then it wouldn’t be a bad choice.

Speed: 12
Glide: 5
Turn: -1
Fade: 4

There is a quick look at the Habit and the Intervention from Plastic Addicts. Hopefully we see more discs from these guys soon!

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under Disc Brands Tags: , , , , , ,
Popular Putters

10 Best-Selling Putters (2015 – 2016)

We’ve run the numbers on sales through the infinitediscs.com retail store, looking back from April 2015 to April 2016 to discover the best-selling putters. These are the results.

WizardSSS#1  It is no surprise that the best-selling putter is the Gateway Wizard.  The famous Wizard is available in several plastics, one of the most popular sellers being the Super Stupid Soft blend.

However, as 2016 moves on, the Super Stupid Soft plastic type may be challenged by the newest plastics:

The SB or Special Blend plastic has been selling well the last few months.

Wizard_Evolution

 

 

The Evolution Platinum plastic is the newest 2016 offering, coming very close to a slick feel like Innova GStar plastic.

Another popular plastic is the RFF or Really Freakin’ Flexible

It will be interesting to see if any other putter can dethrone the Wizard as the best-selling putter in the Infinite Discs inventory as the year moves forward.

Here are some of the heavy contenders…

#2  The Innova Aviar continues to be a consistent seller, also offering many plastic types and models, coupled with Innova’s solid marketing and professional support.

#3  Also from Innova is the popular and visually unique Nova putter.

AviarIMG_2967

#4  In the number four spot is one of several solid putters from the MVP / Axiom family, the Envy.  The Envy putter is available in several attractive plastic types, with Neutron, Neutron Soft, Plasma, and Proton.

IMG_2839 EnvyProton

judge#5  Gaining steam in the list of Infinite Disc’s best-sellers is the solid putter from Dynamic Discs, the Judge.  This putter is most popular in the less expensive, softer plastic types like Classic and Prime.

pure-mega

 

 

 

 

 

#6  Also gaining momentum in sales is the top-selling putter by Latitude 64, the Pure.  Though very popular in the inexpensive baseline plastic, Retro, it is becoming more popular in the Zero Megasoft which is an extremely flexible plastic that can nearly be folded in half before springing back into shape.  Of course, the Pure is also available in premium plastics.

#7  Holding the number seven spot is the Atom by MVP.  It is available in Electron and Electron Soft.  You’ll notice that “soft” is a recurring theme with putters, which are usually more popular in soft, flexible, pliable plastics with a tacky grip. The Atom falls easily into the soft category.

Colt#8  Innova claims another spot in the top 10 with their newer offering, the Colt.  It is available in three plastic types, including the budget DX plastic, Star, and XT.

#9  From Prodigy, a solid manufacturer with a growing line of discs, we have the PA3 (Putt and Approach #3) which is available in their somewhat cryptic plastic types, 300S, 350G, 400G and 400S.pa3

 

 

 

#10  Rounding out the top ten, we have the Zone by Discraft, which is actually quite different from the other discs on this list. It is very flat with a thick rim and is technically an overstable disc so that it can fight headwinds, which as many players know, can mess up the putting accuracy of the best of players. So, the Zone is designed for less finesse and more shear strength to punch through those rough conditions.  Also, the Zone is different in that it sells more in premium, deluxe plastics rather than the less expensive, softer plastics. People like to get their Zone in solid, heavy plastics like Crystal FLX or Titanium FLX, etc.

zone zoneti

Hopefully this list is helpful in pointing you to some of the best-selling putters in Infinite Disc’s online store, with a wide variety of styles and designs. You can play assured that any of these are among the best.

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Posted under Disc Golf Disc Reviews,Putters Tags: , , , ,
20160510_122159[1]

Best Overstable Mid-Range Discs (2016)

In this review, we’re going to take a quick look at some of the most overstable mid-range discs. You’ll find that overstable mid-range discs with the ability to make a sharp turn in a short distance come in very handy in many situations. They are particularly useful when avoiding obstacles in your path, like hooking around a tree or clump of thick vegetation. Instead of aiming through a densely packed fairway, you can shoot around the obstacles using the wider, clearer path.  Sometimes the direct approach isn’t always the best, and you want to fade toward the target from the side. Most of these overstable midrange discs will hold a straight line for a while, depending on the strength of your throw, but eventually will fade hard.

In case you are new to the game, this is how a disc’s fade works depending on your throwing style:

Backhand / Right-handed — Fade to the left.
Backhand / Left-handed — Fade to the right.
Forehand / Right-handed — Fade to the right.
Forehand / Left-handed — Fade to the left.

This list will include some trusted discs that have been around for years, plus some recent releases (click the disc name to see more info on infinitediscs.com)

From MVP there is the TENSOR. A lot of players love this disc for its ability to fight the wind and for it’s reliable, hard-fade at the end of the throw.

From Latitude 64 there is the TRIDENT.  This disc holds a straight line nicely until the velocity drops, then it fades hard for that sudden turn you may be looking for. Unfortunately, it is rumored to be going out of production, so people are snapping them up. It is marketed as a control / fairway driver, but works nicely as a mid-range disc.

From Dynamic Discs there is the JUSTICE.  The Justice is definitely one of the most popular overstable midrange discs on the market. It is a player favorite and top seller because of its ability to withstand winds, avoid flipping over, and always fading hard.

From Discraft there is the DRONE. The Drone has been a personal favorite of mine for years. Though maybe not the best wind-fighting disc, it is extremely reliable when it comes to making a turn around obstacles. It is my personal, go-to overstable midrange when I need predictability.

From Discmania there is the MD3.  Though not as overstable as some of the other discs on this list, it is a solid mid-range and is a favorite for those needing a consistent turn.

From Innova there is the ROC.  Let’s face it, Innova is a very popular brand, so there are a lot of players throwing a Roc for their overstable mid-range needs. The Roc can fly straight if you release it just right, but it has the expected fade at the end.  Again, it isn’t the most overstable disc on this list, but as a popular staple in many player’s bags, it earns a solid place on our list.

From Westside Discs there is the BARD.  Once again, this disc has a nice, straight flight as long as the velocity holds up, then hits a hard fade once the velocity dies down.  It is very useful for curving around obstacles, and you may even get a nice skip at the end of its flight.

From Legacy there is the GHOST.   Some players like the Ghost as an alternative to the popular Roc from Innova, but it is preferred in the more premium, Pinnacle plastic if you want the hard fade at the end of its flight.  That’s what we’re looking for– a hard, overstable fade.

From Hyzer Bomb there is the MOAB.  Though technically marketed as a control driver, I dare you to get any real distance out of this disc before it makes the turn.  It is one of the most beefy, overstable discs I’ve ever thrown, and it would certainly be a challenge to get it to fly very far before making that sharp, heavy-handed turn.  Sharp turns abound with the Moab, released this year.

From Millenium there is the Sentinel MF.  If you’re looking for a little more distance from your mid-range disc before it hits the fade, a lot of players love this classic disc.

From Gateway there is the Demon.   Though Gateway is most famous for their Wizard putters, they do claim one of the most overstable discs on the market with the Demon.  This disc should provide a very hard fade when you need to get around the obstacle in a short distance.

From Prodigy there is the A1.  Prodigy is becoming more and more popular with skilled players, and they’ve now introduced this interesting line of “A” series discs (A1, A2, and A3).  They are touted as the perfect crossover between a putter and a midrange disc. So, you won’t get a lot of distance with an A1 disc, but you will get a predictable fade.  So, consider the A1 or its brothers for that short shot to the basket when you need to approach from the side and fade into the chains.

Those are some of the overstable midrange discs worth trying out for your disc golfing needs. Feel free to recommend others in the comments!

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under General Tags: , , , , , , , ,
1 2 3 18