Do you NEED a Disc Golf Cart?

Published / by Alan / Leave a Comment

Last Saturday I played in a disc golf tournament at the Jolley’s Ranch Course in Springville Utah. While mingling with friends and waiting for awards, I realized that I had my mini marker in my pocket and so walked over to my black disc golf cart to put it away. While reaching for the mini disc pocket on the putter pouch, I realized that I had the wrong black cart. Parked near the pavilion there were half a dozen other Zuca Disc Golf Carts of various designs and colors, but none of them were mine.  I panicked for a second, looking all around among the sea of Zuca carts until eventually I spotted my cart in the pavilion by the tables.

If you’ve been to a disc golf tournament recently, you’ve probably noticed the large number of disc golfers who use carts. Disc golf carts are the hottest thing for disc golf fanatics since disc golf backpacks hit the market several years ago. With so many disc golfers using disc golf carts, the question is, Do you NEED a cart too?

I’ve had my cart for nearly 10 months now and have played with it in about a dozen different tournaments, so I’ve had a few experiences that give me a solid opinion that can help you decide if a disc golf cart is right for you.

Advantages of Disc Golf Carts

There are several advantages of using a cart, especially for tournament play.

  1. Zuca Cart holds 36 DiscsYou can hold more discs. The reality is that during most rounds of disc golf I don’t use more than about a dozen different discs, but there are instances where having the luxury of carrying more discs is really nice.
    • Excellent for practice rounds. I like to play practice disc golf rounds early in the mornings when nobody else is on the course. On most of the holes, I throw multiple drives. With a cart that holds 35 of my discs, I am able to throw 15 drivers all on the same wide open hole. Improvement comes from repetitions, so having a cart that holds so many discs is a great way to get more reps and practice faster.
    • It’s nice to have back-up discs and back-ups of back-ups for tournaments. I have some discs that I only occasionally use, but have a specific use for rare instances where that is the only disc that will work. When you’re away at a tournament, it’s usually pretty difficult to find a replacement disc on the fly. In addition, many discs take some “beating in” to get them to fly the way you want. With a Zuca cart, I have enough space to carry back-ups of all my discs as well as back-ups of the back-ups for the discs I throw most often. If you’re playing a course with high disc loss probability, carrying a few “I don’t care if I lose this disc” discs is also pretty nice for those super dangerous throws. I lost 5 discs during my round at Olpe Lake during the Glass Blown Open last year, so I really appreciated having plenty of discs to throw.
  2. Disc Golf Cart holds lots of accessoriesHold more stuff. In addition to an overkill supply of discs, my cart also holds a thin rain jacket, a sweatshirt, snacks, a clipboard, pencils, keys, my phone, extra towels, a dirt bag and two large water bottles. And, if there’s potential for rain, I slip a large umbrella down the back side of the Zuca cart. If I’m playing a course that has water hazards, I can also slip in a disc gator retriever. Having all of these accessories doesn’t make toting the cart around any more difficult.
  3. With all the extra stuff, you don’t kill your back. It’s really not that inconvenient to carry a light disc golf backpack. However, when you have a life supply of discs and all the optional accessories, a guy of my stature is bound to break his back and be unable to finish the round if they try.  The simple machine advantage of rolling wheels make it possible to carry all the necessities and luxuries for your disc golf rounds.
  4. Always have a place to sit during slow tournament rounds. If you’ve played in a disc golf tournament before you know that tournament rounds are slow, and standing for hours at a time can be tiring on the legs. Sure you can bring a tournament seat with you, but a three legged stool is just not as convenient as the always set up Zuca cart seat. With a traditional bag and tournament seat I’d pull out the chair on backed up tee pads, but with the cart I take a short sitting rest between almost every throw.

Disadvantages of Disc Golf Carts

While Zuca Carts are pretty awesome, there are a few instances where a normal large bag is substantially more convenient.

  1. Fitting Zuca Car in TrunckNot as easy to fit the cart in your car, especially if you have a small trunk. I drive a 2007 Toyota Corolla. With my disc golf bags, I still have lots of room for other stuff in the trunk. My cart not only takes up substantially more space, but it also requires extra open space to allow it to roll in and out at the perpendicular angle required to fit it through the trunk opening. When my cart is in the trunk, there is not room for any other large items. Using the cart has also been inconvenient for distant tournaments where I carpool with other disc golfers. To accommodate all players and their disc golf equipment, we sometimes have to sacrifice the carts. Getting the cart inside and outside of a vehicle is a little more time consuming than just throwing a bag in the trunk. Every time I load/unload the cart I need to adjust the handle, remove/install the putter and accessory pouches.
  2. Inconvenient for very rugged terrain. Pulling Zuca Cart up steep hillWhile rolling your cart on flat well manicured grass is at least as easy as carrying a backpack, the convenience level reverses when in rugged wooded hilly terrain. Hit a bump wrong, and your cart may tip, do a 180 degree pirouette and cause you to spill 30 discs. I’ve been on some cliff like hills that are so steep rolling isn’t possible. In these cases I have to pick up the cart and carry it. When the cart is full with all those extra discs and extra stuff, it’s not light. In instances of thick mud, shrubbery, or crossing streams, you also have to pick up your cart and grow your muscles. When you get too many cart carrying instances in the same round, you’ll usually wish you had just brought a backpack.
  3. Really inconvenient if you get a flat tire. Yes, this did happen to me and on one of those not so cart friendly courses. At the Glass Blown Open a guy in my buddy’s group also got a flat just before his round playing Olpe Lake (which is not a very cart friendly course). There are ways to prevent flats, such as using Styrofoam tubes or flat repair goo, but just realize that a flat tire is a potential downfall of a cart that you don’t have to think about when you use a bag.

The obvious answer of course is NO, you don’t need a disc golf cart, but if you are a serious passionate disc golfer, I highly recommend investing in one — especially if your home course is cart friendly and if you play lots of tournaments.

If you’re going to invest in a cart, I also recommend purchasing a seat cushion (provides a little padding, but more important is much warmer than the cold metal) and a putter pouch.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Understable Mid-Range Discs for Beginning Disc Golfers

Published / by Todd Durrant / Leave a Comment

If you are a new disc golf player, or you have a low-speed throwing motion, some of the best discs that you can use to effectively control your shot and keep the disc in the air are mid-range discs. New players often overlook the mid-range, considering it a “non vital” part of their initial disc arsenal.  I often see new players jump right to the drivers, and then select a putter and consider themselves ready to play. A lot of the time, if they don’t have a naturally high-speed throw with great technique, they’ll find those drivers crashing to the ground a lot sooner than a low-speed mid-range would.

Experienced players, including top pros, always have a bag that includes mid-range discs like the Discraft BUZZZ, the Innova ROC, or the Latitude 64 COMPASS.  But let’s take a look at mid-range discs that are extremely forgiving to new players because they do not require a powerful arm or a lot of experience to glide easily in the right direction. Understable discs favor those lower-speed arms because they fight the natural fade of the disc. Here are some discs to consider:

WOLF – The Wolf is the most understable mid-range made by Innova. Though it may be nearly useless to experienced players as a light-weight, super-understable disc, it can be a game-saver for new players, including youth. I once played a round on a difficult mountain course with a young, newer player who struggled with every driver he threw. Those discs always turned very early into the trees, leaving him stuck in the rough. Finally he resorted to a Wolf and for the first time he was able to control his shots. It made all the difference for him.  There is no shame in finding an easy-to-throw disc while you get your technique under control.

BUZZZ SS – The Buzzz by Discraft is arguably the top-selling mid-range disc on the market, holding its popularity for years. The Buzzz SS is a hybrid version which is more understable, or “super straight”, designed for little to no fade, making it a very easy disc to throw for new players.

PEARL – Latitude 64 designed a series of discs that were specifically aimed at the market for young players and for women, knowing that arm speed, weight, and rim size are factors which need to be taken into consideration for those players. The Pearl is the mid-range disc that was designed for that purpose, fitting smaller hands comfortably and weighing less than most mid-range discs on the market. It is also understable enough to fight the fade when thrown at lower speeds.

M5 – Prodigy has a alpha-numeric way of naming their discs so that they can be judged easily when it comes to design and stability. The “M” simply stands for “Midrange” and then the following numbers range from 1 to 5, with 1 being the most overstable, and 5 being the most understable. Thus, the M5 is the most understable of the Prodigy mid-range discs, making it the easiest to throw for slower arms or new players.  If you become interested other Prodigy discs, you can follow the same pattern to discern which disc is best for your needs, based on the disc name. “F” stands for “Fairway Driver”, “D” is for “Distance Driver”, “PA” is for “Put and Approach”, etc. Then, once again, the numbers go from 1, being the most overstable, to the highest number being the most understable.

THEORY – This is the most popular understable mid-range from the MVP / Axiom family.  It has a unique feel due to the usual “Gyro Overmold Technology” used by MVP / Axiom. It flies true and is a favorite for many players who throw backhand yet want a right curve on their throw.

STRATUS – I personally threw the Stratus by Discraft quite regularly as a new player. I loved how I could get great distance with very little fade. I highly recommend this disc for new players who struggle with discs fading too early. It is almost a mid-range / driver hybrid because of the extra distance potential.

STINGRAY – Though not quite as understable as the Innova Wolf, the Stingray is still understable enough to be very beginner friendly, and it is also available in premium Star plastic for more durability and long-term use. Though a new player may outgrow a Wolf, the Stingray remains a favorite disc even for players who have been carrying it in their bag for years.

TURSAS – This is the understable mid-range offered by Westside, and it is perfect for low power throwers. Anybody with a more seasoned, faster arm speed is going to find this disc flying irrecoverably on an anhyzer curve, but new players will be able to shape their short-range throws like a pro with the Tursas.

PROOF – Dynamic Discs released a series of discs designed for beginners, also sold as a starter set, and the Proof is the mid-range in that series. It has a flatter profile than some of the other mid-range discs listed here, so it slices through the air nicely for more distance. But it still pulls unmistakably to the understable side on that flight, so it lends itself well to beginners.

FLYING SQUIRREL – The Flying Squirrel is manufactured by ABC, a smaller company among the disc golf giants. But they make some nice discs, and this mid-range is a great one for beginners, as well as for intermediate players who like to shape a nice S-curve on the way to the target. It has an understable pull upon release, but also has more fade than most of the mid-range discs listed above.  It also has a lot of glide, so it hovers nicely on the air as it makes its graceful trip across the fairway.


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Play Angry – A Zenless Guide to Disc Golf – Chapter 5

Published / by Todd Durrant / Leave a Comment

Note: This is part 5 in a series of posts which make up the chapters of a tongue-in-cheek look at the game of disc golf and why we love it so much, despite the lack of reciprocated affection. It is not actually intended to improve your game…unless it does…in which case we’re happy to take the credit.

Chapter 5 – The Need for Companionship

One of the true joys of disc golf is found within the social aspect of the game. Rarely do I see a lone disc golfer out on the course, throwing plastic in a solitary vigil. When I do happen across one of those individuals, rarely are they smiling. Their lack of outward joviality is probably due to an intensely focused desire to improve their game, which as noble as it sounds, isn’t nearly as fun as enduring the constant criticism and chastisement of friends.

Let’s suppose that all of that lonely practice time starts to pay off and you tee-off with one of your most impressive throws, landing your driver within ten feet of an easy birdie. Who are you going to turn to and say, “Did you see that?” Or, “Beat that, if you can!” Instead you turn to one side, then the other, and you find nobody with whom to share your excitement. It’s about as deflating as having to sing a solo rendition of “happy birthday to me”. Trust me, you never want to miss out on an opportunity to gloat.

I can’t claim that I’ve never gone out for a little alone time. Once I played my best nine holes in months while alone, but failed to find the satisfaction in telling my son about it later. My tale had all the exaggerated flavor of a big-fish-story when I spoke of the many great throws that nobody had witnessed. Face it, I really could have made the whole thing up. I even started doubting myself. Had any of the stuff I had just described actually happened?

On one of those few occasions when I found myself alone, I came to a hole that was short, but tricky. The basket was slightly downhill and tucked behind a small stand of wiry trees, invisible from the tee.

I was getting ready to throw when another player standing at a nearby hole called out. “Hey! Do you want to play the next few together?”

I was still in my first year at the time and had yet to understand the social aspect of the game. Thus I figured that his only possible motivation must have been that he had witnessed my previous throws from afar, considering me weak prey. He sensed an easy, though meaningless victory.

“Sure, I shrugged.”

The stranger jogged up the hill to my tee and politely introduced himself. He said I could go ahead and throw first. I picked up my Drone, took my position on the tee, and threw. My disc made the perfect turn at just the right moment, curving behind the trees and fading until we both heard a telltale clang.

“Nice one!” my new acquaintance declared. “Sounds like it went in!”

He threw his disc and we walked the dirt path to see where we’d landed. Much to my astonishment, my disc was in the basket! It was my first ace! The other player congratulated me and asked if I wanted him to sign my disc as a witness. A few minutes later the underside of my disc had the scribbled words “Blind Gully 2B” with the date and his signature. I retired that white Drone (though I immediately bought another exactly like it) and keep it as a memento of my first ace.

The thing to take away from this story is that I can be pretty awesome under pressure. Actually, the true take away is that I never would have had a witness if that stranger hadn’t decided to embrace the concept of disc golf companionship. I might have made that ace with no witnesses, and no matter how often I would have talked about it, the story would have felt less and less real with each telling. Who would have any reason to believe me anyway?

That guy went on to outplay me on every other hole, but I didn’t care. We were there to share the good, the bad, and the ugly together, as true disc golfers should. We impartially partook of the exuberant cheers of triumph and the disgruntled grumblings of shame. 

Since then I have taken every opportunity that I can to play with friends. Some of us even started an early morning league which lasted only a few weeks, but which opened us up to ample opportunities to improve both our game and our ability to unleash appropriately insulting insults on-the-fly. We originally called our little group The Early Birdies, but group consensus later changed that title since we realized that birdies were indeed too rare when we played. Thus we became The Bogey Boyz which more accurately described our actual game tendencies. Then for a second time the name was changed because it was suggested that our title was too derogatory and didn’t encourage us to play better. Thus we became The Ace Holes. Shortly thereafter, work schedules changed and the little league disbanded, but we still run into each other on occasion and make it a point to throw plastic together.

If you still find yourself playing alone more often than otherwise, I’d encourage you to grab a companion and give it a try. You’ll likely find it a rewarding experience– especially if you make it a point to find somebody decidedly worse at disc golf than you are. In fact, some of my best rounds were played in the company of complete novices. Think about it– there is no better way to look like your every throw is a stunning display of incredible skill than to play with somebody who has never thrown a disc golf disc before. Their outbursts of amazement and praise will raise you to a level you’ve rarely been. It builds your confidence, it gets them interested in the game, and it builds the sport, one player at a time. Ultimately, that’s what we all really want. I rarely, if ever, play alone.

Coming Soon: Chapter 6 – Rules of Communication

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Great Discraft Discs for 2016 – Undertaker, Thrasher, and Mini Buzzz

Published / by Todd Durrant / Leave a Comment

discraftDiscraft  has a large selection of discs and a long-time presence in the disc golf market. I actually started my love of disc golf with Discraft discs, as have many thousands of players who are able to find affordable discs that are very forgiving for novices. Discs such as the Avenger SS, XL, Stratus, Comet, Xpress, and their juggernaut, the Buzzz, all lend themselves very well to new players who do not yet throw with a lot of power.

In 2016, the popular disc maker presented two new discs which straddle the divide between beginning players and experienced players, and based on initial sales the duel-appeal approach seemed to work well for them. The Undertaker was the first big release of the year and became Discraft’s hottest-selling new release since the Nuke distance driver release in late 2009.

The formula for the success was not in releasing a new utility disc that may or may not come in handy for certain types of players or certain types of throws, but instead creating a disc that merely does a workhorse task and does it very well.  The Undertaker flies much like the popular TeeBird by Innova, though a touch beefier and faster– perhaps we could say it is more like a Thunderbird. Though Discraft does not use the 4-digit flight rating system, stubbornly sticking to a much less informative single-digit “turn” rating, reviewers on the Infinite Discs website give it an average 4-number rating of:
9 / 5 / -1 / 3

The Undertaker fights headwinds well, without too much bouncing around, and it always finishes with a solid fade when thrown for precision shots between 200 – 300 feet. If you try to crank the Undertaker out like a distance bomber, then it gets more understable, but alas, that is not its purpose or design. It is a workhorse driver for the fairway and for those tee shots where the hole is under 300 feet away. In those cases, the Undertaker is extremely reliable as long as you account for that smooth fade at the end of flight. It wasn’t long before the Undertaker won a permanent spot in my bag, falling between and often replacing other Discraft discs that were previous staples in my fairway game, like the Elite Z XS and Elite Z Predator.

And once again, the Undertaker isn’t completely unthrowable to new players. Though they may not get the distance of an experienced player, the disc will still behave the same, holding a line until the fade, based on the speed of the release.  So it still finds itself useful across the range of experience.

Another new release by Discraft for 2016 was the Thrasher, which straddles the line between beginner and advanced players even more thoroughly than the Undertaker. The Thrasher is something of an anomaly because it is clocked in as a “speed 12” distance driver by reviewers, putting it in the speed range of popular drivers like the Destroyer, Photon, Outlaw, etc. and yet you don’t need huge arm speed to get great distance results.  It doesn’t have the large fade of those other distance drivers, making the Thrasher more forgiving for newer players, and it has an understable pull upon release, which allows it to carry for long distances before touching down. But even when power throwers give it a whirl, it doesn’t behave like many other understable discs– it doesn’t pull right into the ground and turn into a roller. It manages to fight that understable “crash-and-burn” tendency when thrown hard. So, you can either dial back the speed and have a really good precision drive, or you can crank it and watch it take a long, understable flight with a gentle end fade. So far, the Thrasher has proven to be a second driver hit for Discraft in 2016.

One of the new releases by Discraft in 2016 that even took the company completely by surprise was the novelty disc, the Mini Buzzz.  This miniature replica of the popular Buzzz mid-range flew off the shelves so fast that the first run was sold out in only a day or two.  It is larger than the typical mini marker disc, and it is certainly not PDGA approved for use in game play, but this little mini-sized disc actually knows how to fly! Once Discraft caught up with demand and started producing these little guys as fast as consumers could snatch them up, they became a disc golf sensation as players started collecting and…yes…throwing them across courses,  reaching distances of 250 feet or more!  They fly wonderfully despite being a novelty. Release it with a hyzer angle and let it rip! it will stand up and fly further than you expect. As soon as any player pulls out a Mini Buzzz and says, “hey, watch this!” their friends end up searching out mini Buzzz discs of their own.  We shall see how long the trend continues. After this, I foresee more disc manufacturers making miniature replicas of their most popular discs.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Play Angry – A Zenless Guide to Disc Golf – Chapter 4

Published / by Todd Durrant / Leave a Comment

Note: This is part 4 in a series of posts which make up the chapters of a tongue-in-cheek look at the game of disc golf and why we love it so much, despite the lack of reciprocated affection. It is not actually intended to improve your game…unless it does…in which case we’re happy to take the credit.

Chapter 4 – Achieving True Disc Lust

In my experience, it doesn’t take long for players to find themselves in need of new discs. Remember the plastic grocery bag that you used to carry your first discs around the course? It will quickly be replaced with a starter disc bag, which will then be replaced with a full-size bag, which shall logically be replaced with a backpack, which shall then be replaced with a small pickup truck with two drink holders, Bluetooth speakers, a retractable stool, and a shade canopy.

It is a disease. Face it. There is no cure. I overheard a teenage player tell his mother once while perusing bags in the local disc golf shop:

“Hey, honey, this one looks great,” pointing to a popular competition bag that holds about 16 discs.

“No, Mom! I’m going to get the one that holds 150 discs. Not that puny thing!”

I scratched my head, trying to imagine which portable bag holds 150 discs, then came to conclusion that he is probably of the Harry Potter generation, and if he could imagine it, then it must exist in the real world! Muggles…

That illogical quest for bigger, better bags and carts that hold more discs is real, because there is yet another level to disc acquisition which stretches far beyond the actual game. There is a state of mind that endangers nearly all disc golf players. You’ll know you are infected the first time you walk into a disc golf shop and you see a shiny, smooth, colorful disc with a unique stamp design, or just the right touch of milky swirls that hypnotize you from deep within the plastic. Suddenly, you don’t care what that disc does when you throw it. In fact, if somebody were to lift it and cock their am back, you’d yell, “No! What are you thinking? Get your dirty hands off my baby!

Sure, you may still ask questions like, “Is it overstable or understable?” But that is merely a question, like “Is it a girl, or a boy?” You really don’t care about the answer because you already know in your heart that you simply must own that disc. You now have an official case of “disc lust”. There’s no cure, except to stay away from smooth, round objects, and we know that’s not going to happen.

I remember a day when I was looking through a pile of new discs, doing my best not to think about how pretty and untarnished they were. Red discs, purple discs, blue discs, swirly discs, sparkly discs, and then– like the devil himself, tempting me beyond my capacity to resist– a disc with a full color image of a donut on top. It was a cake donut! With sprinkles! It wasn’t fare! I asked what kind of disc it was, how it flies, if anybody has experience throwing one, etc. The replies went right through my brain like water through a net. Heck, I wasn’t going to throw that thing anyway. Why would I want such a work of art dinged-up by chains, or scratched by trees and rocks, or soiled by…um…soil?

I’ve seen countless players buy new discs that will never be given the opportunity to fly. I’ve seen players buy multiple copies of the same disc merely because they had to have as many color variations as possible. I’ve even seen people snatch up misprints with double-stamps and messed-up tournament stamps because the beauty was in the supposed flaws. It isn’t just a matter of collecting. It’s a passion. The good folks working at the disc golf shop don’t hold it against you. After all, it’s your disc lust that helps pay their wages. But they also sympathize, because whatever wage they are making, it isn’t enough to afford that secret disc stash that every one of them has in a box, tucked away in a corner, or high on a shelf, waiting for the day that never seems to come, when they too will pull those plastic circles to their hearts and with a raspy whisper declare, “My Precious…

Coming Soon: Chapter 5 – The Need for Companionship

Previous Chapters:
Why Do We Play?
Be the Basket / Be the Disc
It’s Always the Disc’s Fault

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Disc Golf Distance Driver Comparison and Reviews

Published / by Todd Durrant / 2 Comments on Disc Golf Distance Driver Comparison and Reviews

Without attempting to completely cover the ever-growing arsenal of distance drivers that are being released into the disc golf market, this article will pull together a respectable cross-section of popular distance drivers from several different manufacturers and look at how they fly.  We will focus on a few respective “bombers” that are available for your extra long drives, with rated flight speeds of “12” or higher.

Keep in mind, high-speed distance drivers only fly as far as you have the power to throw them. If you don’t have a powerful throw, then high speed discs will likely fly shorter distances than a disc that is more “tuned” to your arm speed. Slow arm speed doesn’t necessarily need to be a weakness in your game. Pick up some quality drivers with speeds ranging from 7-10 and you’ll get great results. As you move to higher speeds, you can compensate for the slower arm speed with more “understable” discs. For a good read on understable drivers, check out this article.

kingKing – This is one of the most fun distance drivers on the market, and a definite highlight from Westside Discs. However, it is pretty much agreed among disc golfers who throw the King that the flight ratings which are printed on the disc are wrong. It is given a 14, 5, -1, 4 rating. However, the disc (especially in beautiful Tournament plastic) is not nearly as overstable as those numbers would suggest. In fact, most people who throw a King would rate it something more like a 14, 5, -2, 2 and sometimes it even lacks much of a final fade at all.  I use the Tournament King as an understable distance driver, and a VIP King as a more overstable version when I want some fade at the end of the flight. But there is no arguing with the distance, as long as you don’t mind it pulling to the understable side on the way to your intended target.

colossusColossus – The Colossus was Innova’s answer to some of the popular 14-speed drivers that hit the market.  As a bomber, it certainly does the trick if you have the arm speed for it.  It has a really nice, understable pull upon release, especially in GStar plastic, which allows the disc to get a lot of extra distance before making a final fade back to the overstable side. It is a great S-Curve distance driver that can really stretch its flight with nice glide, allowing even amateur players to reach the 400 foot mark.  If you throw it in Champion plastic, you can expect the Colossus to be more overstable with an earlier fade.


DDX – With the Innova Destroyer  reining as the top-selling distance driver on the market for so long, it is inevitable that other companies will create  very similar discs. The DDX rim feels different than a Destroyer with a slightly sharper inner rim edge, but the flight characteristics are very similar, only with less fade than a destroyer. The DDX has a flight rating of 12, 5, -1, 2 which makes it an easy-to-control long-bomber for intermediate to advanced players. In a short duration, the DDX has already made its way into the hearts of players as a go-to distance driver.  Again, don’t expect it to be an easy-to-throw disc for new players, since this (along with most high-speed discs) takes some throwing power to get the desired results.


Lace – Vibram is an instant standout in any disc golf store because they make their discs of rubber, and any player can tell these discs are different to the touch. But once players pick them up and give them a fling, it is instantly apparent that these discs can fly!  The Lace is the best-selling Vibram disc and is their stable distance driver. Vibram has used a rather different and somewhat cryptic flight rating system, but most players rate this driver around a 12 speed. But regardless of rating, it is one of the easier distance drivers to throw, working wonderfully for players without a lot of experience.


Boss – For those who follow the distance records that seem to be broken every year in the windy conditions of the high desert, the Boss is one of the discs that has held one of those records with a throw by David Wiggins Jr. of 1108 feet. Of course, that doesn’t mean that everybody who picks up a Boss is going to set new, personal records, but it is a reliable and very popular distance driver by Innova. New players might find it hard to get this disc “out there” because it will fade earlier than desired. You need to have some experience and arm speed to get this 13-speed disc to go the distance.

Havoc – The Havoc by Latitude 64 is one of those distance drivers that has stayed somewhat in the background, without a lot of attention. But it is a serious bomber that flies wonderfully for players of all skill levels.  With a flight rating much like the Innova Boss, you’d expect it to fade a bit more than it typically does. The Havoc can be a very nice straight flyer or S-curve flyer when thrown in a lighter weight, especially in Gold Line plastic. The user-friendly Havoc sort of took a backseat to the Ballista by Latitude 64 which is a beefier flyer that shines brighter with bigger, faster arms.


The Destiny – The Destiny by Westside Discs took off in sales to quickly surpass the popular King, because for a 14-speed disc, it is really pretty friendly to players who are still fairly new to the game. It has more of an understable release which allows it to take long, S-curve flights for maximum distance. More experienced players may find it too understable, until they throw it for huge, hyzer shots, which still achieve huge distance. For many players, the Destiny feels like a serious game changer when it comes to distance.  The sales of the disc at Infinite Discs didn’t only spike when it was a new release, but continued to gain momentum with time, which is always a good sign. That means that more people are giving it a try, talking about it, and discovering the distance potential of the Destiny.


Catalyst – MVP took a big step when they introduced a series of distance drivers with wider rims.  The wider rims allowed them to tackle the distance driver market with more competitive distance results, unleashing discs that have a speed rating higher than 12. The Catalyst is the more understable of the wider-rimmed series, which allows players without huge arm speed to really get this disc to travel. Whenever a distance driver caters to the bulk of disc golfers, most of whom do not have the throwing power of a pro, then the sales role in. Thus, the sales of the Catalyst quickly surpassed those of the other, more overstable high-speed discs by MVP like the Octane, Nitro, and Energy.


Outlaw – The Outlaw is a disc from Legacy Discs which instantly drew comparisons to the extremely popular Destroyer by Innova. The flight ratings are identical, with a 12, 5, -1, 3.  Legacy managed to not only create a hit with the similar flight characteristics, but added fuel to the fire with a series of limited edition stamps, introducing different “outlaw” characters on different editions, which later culminated in a stamp design that featured all of the characters together. They didn’t only know how to make a solid distance driver, but understood the collector mindset which would help create a cult hit. So, even when players weren’t necessarily buying the disc to throw, they were buying them to hang on the wall as decoration.

Kahu – One of the newer members of the growing family of disc manufacturers is RPM Discs from New Zealand. As one of their first, core disc releases, they put out the Kahu, which is a superb distance driver that again draws comparisons to the Destroyer by Innova. In both Cosmic plastic (more translucent) and Atomic Plastic (more like Innova’s Star plastic) it has a really nice feel in the hand, and also presents a low profile, which is great for players who like flatter discs without too much dome.  It cuts through the air with nice speed and finishes with a solid turn. It flies especially well for forehand throwers, though backhand bombers would also find the results quite satisfying. RPM Discs also makes some really beautiful colors and attractive stamps, making the discs even cooler to add to your bag. The Kahu comes highly recommended as a distance driver for experienced players.

Thrasher – The Thrasher by Discraft is a unique, new release distance driver because it has an understable flight pattern, but without the tendency to flip over and role when thrown by more powerful arms.  That makes the disc useful as a distance bomber for newer players, but also a nice utility driver for experienced players.  It can make some serious S-curves and has a glide that seems to go forever. Along with the Undertaker, it is proving to be a popular new 2016 addition to Discraft’s huge entourage of discs. The longevity of its popularity is yet to be seen, but for now, it seems to be universally loved at first throw by most disc golfers who give it a throw.

Defender – For the players who want a beefy, overstable distance driver that will turn, no matter what, there is no need to look further than the recently released Defender by Dynamic Discs. Though it is overstable and proud of it, experienced throwers who can throw 350 feet or more will find that they can still achieve surprising distance with the Defender before it makes its dramatic fade.  Because of this hard fade, it will not be an easy disc for most beginning and intermediate players.  It can be used a wind-fighter when throwing into headwinds. It could also be used for power forehand throwers.


That is a quick look at some of the prominent distance drivers in the higher speed range, but certainly doesn’t cover all of them.  For more distance drivers with reviews and flight data, check out the huge selection of discs at Infinite Discs.


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Dynamic Discs Defender–Lucid vs. BioFuzion

Published / by Jace Smellie / Leave a Comment


This summer, we saw a lot of new disc releases from several disc golf manufacturers. One of the more successful new releases has been the Dynamic Discs new overstable high speed driver, the Defender. The Defender was originally released in two plastics, Lucid and BioFuzion. It is also now available in Fuzion and Prime plastic. I had a chance to test out the Lucid and BioFuzion Defenders together and learned a lot about these two discs.

First of all, it is important to remember that event though they are two different plastics, they are still the same disc mold. I feel like in disc golf culture we get so caught up in specific runs and plastic types that it can get really confusing to newer players who are just trying to find the right discs to fill the holes in their bag. Of course, I know that there are very noticeable differences in different runs of the same disc, but I just want to make sure it is clear that when I talk about the differences in these two plastic types that we are talking about very slight differences. Overall, I found them both to be very true to the flight numbers they were assigned by Dynamic Discs (Speed: 13, Glide: 5, Turn: 0, Fade: 3).

So overall, I would not consider the Defender in any plastic type to be a beginner friendly disc. However, if you are a recreational or intermediate player considering trying out a higher speed and more overstable driver, you might find some luck with the Defender. It seems to me that the Defender was meant to be a great compliment to Dynamic‘s other popular overstable high-speed driver, the Enforcer. The Defender has a slightly wider rim, but also sports a flight path that doesn’t quite dump as hard with its finishing fade. I feel like this makes the Defender a little more workable for me, where the Enforcer is more of a utility disc when I need a shot that is going to fade really really hard.


Now, this is where the crucial difference between Lucid and BioFuzion plastic comes into play. I found that the Lucid Defender started to fade just slightly earlier than the BioFuzion Defender did on the same shots. For this reason, if you are that recreational or intermediate player I was talking about just a moment ago, I would recommend the BioFuzion plastic first. If it turns out your arm speed isn’t quite what the Defender requires, the BioFuzion will be a little more forgiving for you. Not only that, but BioFuzion is slightly less durable than Lucid, so overtime that BioFuzion will season faster and become less and less overstable overtime.

So if you are looking to try out a new high-speed overstable distance driver, give the Defender a try. I can honestly say I have nothing bad to say about my experience with the disc, and I am finding more and more of them in use in tournament play. You can read other reviews and learn more about the Defender at Infinite Discs.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

The Unique BUZZZ GT Review

Published / by Todd Durrant / Leave a Comment

The Buzzz mid-range disc is very well recognized disc name among players.  It has been a long-standing best-selling disc for players looking for extremely accurate, straight-shooting performance.  The disc is so popular that it has also been presented in more understable and overstable variations with the Buzzz SS and the Buzzz OS. There is another variation that is lesser known, simply because it was discontinued by Discraft shortly after it was PDGA approved in 2008.  That unique disc was the Buzzz GT.

The Buzzz GT was a very interesting mold, taking the traditional Buzzz and adding a “groove track” on the top of the disc.  The grove track feature added some new characteristics to the disc, with the key focus being on the grip. For whatever reason, the disc vanished for years, becoming a collectible. In the summer of 2016, Infinite Discs worked with Discraft and the 2016 Ledgestone Open tournament to release a limited edition run of Buzzz GT discs in Cryztal plastic.  Only 500 units were made of the Cryztal Buzzz GT  with a custom stamp that presents a tougher variation on the traditional Buzzz bee breaking chains. The bright yellow, pink, blue, and green colors look great with the durable, translucent plastic and the attractive stamp.

But aside from being available for a limited time and being a fun collectible for disc enthusiasts, how does the Buzzz GT actually fly? When originally released, the disc was advertised as having the flight characteristics of a traditional Buzzz, but with the addition of the comfortable groove track. After taking the Cryztal Buzzz GT out for an 18-hole game, using only the Buzzz GT for all shots, I feel like I can safely say that the disc does not fly like a traditional Buzzz.  However, it flies quite a bit like the more overstable Buzzz OS.  If you need a mid-range throw with a solid end fade, it’s a perfect option.  While playing, it took me a few holes to figure out how the disc wanted to fly, but once I figured it out, I was able to park the disc easily on shorter holes and even had a couple of near ace “chain-outs” on short 200-ft holes.  I was simply unable to get the disc to hold a straight line for very long.

I’ve been a fan of the Banger GT putter by Discraft for several years and found the groove track to be a great feature for my putter grip on those short-range putts.  But I must admit that the Buzzz GT didn’t have the same effect for me. It took a little bit of time to get used to the groove track grip when using a disc that I was trying to throw further than a putter.  When trying to grip the rim a bit tighter, the bottom of the groove seemed to interfere a bit with my fingers.  Or, I could choose to stretch my fingers out more and use the bottom groove as a sort of second, wider rim. Basically, I wasn’t sure how I was going to hold the disc on each release. Once I became accustomed to the feel, it didn’t bother me as much.

After 18 holes, I was happy with the disc and added one to my bag, partially for that collector value, but it wasn’t the instant love affair that I’d expected. It certainly wasn’t added as a back-up to a traditional Buzzz. It’s a unique disc, with very unique characteristics. I can only guess at why Discraft discontinued the disc years ago, but it could have been because of that initial learning curve when players would pick it up.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.5/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)