logo

New Discs By Plastic Addicts – Habit and Intervention

On April 4th, 2016, the PDGA approved the two flagship disc releases by one of the newest disc producers on the market, PLASTIC ADDICTS.  Many new disc makers roll out a putter as one of their first discs, which is often a safe move, since everybody needs putters, and players are often forgiving of a disc that really doesn’t have to do much more than keep a straight line for a few feet. The HABIT is the new putter by Plastic Addicts, but it actually has a lot to offer as a new putter on the market. HabitI and my coworkers were all very happy with the Habit from the moment we picked it up. It boasts a larger diameter than most putters, and because of that larger diameter it is available in larger weights, some just over 180 grams.  Yet it doesn’t feel overly bulky or imposing. It feels more like…well…a frisbee. It is comfortable in the hand, and the plastic is sturdy, yet flexible.

Once I actually threw the Habit, I knew I’d found something special. This disc flew straight and steady, with a nice glide. It felt as if I didn’t need to focus so much on pushing the disc forward to get any distance. Just a little wrist action and the disc took off like a champ, almost effortlessly for something that seems so large at first glance. I was able to hit some putts from beyond my comfortable range without having to attempt a jump putt.

The Habit can easily be used as an approach disc as well. I did try ripping it as a driver without much luck. Since it is touted as an “understable putter”, it flipped over once any power was applied. But as a putter, it is a true jewel that makes a unique and pleasant contribution to the myriads of putters out there. I am now using the Habit as my go-to putter.

The second flagship offering from Plastic Addicts is an overstable driver called the INTERVENTION. InterventionUpon picking up this new driver, I expected it to feel like Elite Z plastic from Discraft, since Plastic Addicts uses Discraft to manufacture their new discs. However, it felt more pliable and less rigid than Elize Z plastic. Plastic Addicts calls this plastic “Top Line” and I think it has a very comfortable feel that is a nice mix between durable and grippy.  Plus, on the aesthetic side, a good number of the discs have a little sparkle in the plastic, like very fine glitter, giving the discs a subtle gleam.

Once I had the opportunity to throw the Intervention, I quickly found that the disc is exactly as described. It is a driver with a solid fade. It is no doubt overstable. I don’t have the strongest throwing arm, so the disc faded earlier than I would have liked. Other coworkers were able to get more distance, but still with a solid fade. Though I can definitely see uses for such a disc in any bag, I can also honestly say that there are a lot of drivers out there that would fill the exact same purpose. Overstable drivers aren’t a rarity in the market. The Intervention is yet another solid, overstable driver. But unlike the Habit putter, it doesn’t necessarily shine as a unique new contributor. Of course, if you pick it up and you really like the feel of it, and you need a disc with its flight properties, then it wouldn’t be a bad choice.

Speed: 12
Glide: 5
Turn: -1
Fade: 4

There is a quick look at the Habit and the Intervention from Plastic Addicts. Hopefully we see more discs from these guys soon!

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under Disc Brands Tags: , , , , , ,
Popular Putters

10 Best-Selling Putters (2015 – 2016)

We’ve run the numbers on sales through the infinitediscs.com retail store, looking back from April 2015 to April 2016 to discover the best-selling putters. These are the results.

WizardSSS#1  It is no surprise that the best-selling putter is the Gateway Wizard.  The famous Wizard is available in several plastics, one of the most popular sellers being the Super Stupid Soft blend.

However, as 2016 moves on, the Super Stupid Soft plastic type may be challenged by the newest plastics:

The SB or Special Blend plastic has been selling well the last few months.

Wizard_Evolution

 

 

The Evolution Platinum plastic is the newest 2016 offering, coming very close to a slick feel like Innova GStar plastic.

Another popular plastic is the RFF or Really Freakin’ Flexible

It will be interesting to see if any other putter can dethrone the Wizard as the best-selling putter in the Infinite Discs inventory as the year moves forward.

Here are some of the heavy contenders…

#2  The Innova Aviar continues to be a consistent seller, also offering many plastic types and models, coupled with Innova’s solid marketing and professional support.

#3  Also from Innova is the popular and visually unique Nova putter.

AviarIMG_2967

#4  In the number four spot is one of several solid putters from the MVP / Axiom family, the Envy.  The Envy putter is available in several attractive plastic types, with Neutron, Neutron Soft, Plasma, and Proton.

IMG_2839 EnvyProton

judge#5  Gaining steam in the list of Infinite Disc’s best-sellers is the solid putter from Dynamic Discs, the Judge.  This putter is most popular in the less expensive, softer plastic types like Classic and Prime.

pure-mega

 

 

 

 

 

#6  Also gaining momentum in sales is the top-selling putter by Latitude 64, the Pure.  Though very popular in the inexpensive baseline plastic, Retro, it is becoming more popular in the Zero Megasoft which is an extremely flexible plastic that can nearly be folded in half before springing back into shape.  Of course, the Pure is also available in premium plastics.

#7  Holding the number seven spot is the Atom by MVP.  It is available in Electron and Electron Soft.  You’ll notice that “soft” is a recurring theme with putters, which are usually more popular in soft, flexible, pliable plastics with a tacky grip. The Atom falls easily into the soft category.

Colt#8  Innova claims another spot in the top 10 with their newer offering, the Colt.  It is available in three plastic types, including the budget DX plastic, Star, and XT.

#9  From Prodigy, a solid manufacturer with a growing line of discs, we have the PA3 (Putt and Approach #3) which is available in their somewhat cryptic plastic types, 300S, 350G, 400G and 400S.pa3

 

 

 

#10  Rounding out the top ten, we have the Zone by Discraft, which is actually quite different from the other discs on this list. It is very flat with a thick rim and is technically an overstable disc so that it can fight headwinds, which as many players know, can mess up the putting accuracy of the best of players. So, the Zone is designed for less finesse and more shear strength to punch through those rough conditions.  Also, the Zone is different in that it sells more in premium, deluxe plastics rather than the less expensive, softer plastics. People like to get their Zone in solid, heavy plastics like Crystal FLX or Titanium FLX, etc.

zone zoneti

Hopefully this list is helpful in pointing you to some of the best-selling putters in Infinite Disc’s online store, with a wide variety of styles and designs. You can play assured that any of these are among the best.

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Posted under Disc Golf Disc Reviews,Putters Tags: , , , ,
20160510_122159[1]

Best Overstable Mid-Range Discs (2016)

In this review, we’re going to take a quick look at some of the most overstable mid-range discs. You’ll find that overstable mid-range discs with the ability to make a sharp turn in a short distance come in very handy in many situations. They are particularly useful when avoiding obstacles in your path, like hooking around a tree or clump of thick vegetation. Instead of aiming through a densely packed fairway, you can shoot around the obstacles using the wider, clearer path.  Sometimes the direct approach isn’t always the best, and you want to fade toward the target from the side. Most of these overstable midrange discs will hold a straight line for a while, depending on the strength of your throw, but eventually will fade hard.

In case you are new to the game, this is how a disc’s fade works depending on your throwing style:

Backhand / Right-handed — Fade to the left.
Backhand / Left-handed — Fade to the right.
Forehand / Right-handed — Fade to the right.
Forehand / Left-handed — Fade to the left.

This list will include some trusted discs that have been around for years, plus some recent releases (click the disc name to see more info on infinitediscs.com)

From MVP there is the TENSOR. A lot of players love this disc for its ability to fight the wind and for it’s reliable, hard-fade at the end of the throw.

From Latitude 64 there is the TRIDENT.  This disc holds a straight line nicely until the velocity drops, then it fades hard for that sudden turn you may be looking for. Unfortunately, it is rumored to be going out of production, so people are snapping them up. It is marketed as a control / fairway driver, but works nicely as a mid-range disc.

From Dynamic Discs there is the JUSTICE.  The Justice is definitely one of the most popular overstable midrange discs on the market. It is a player favorite and top seller because of its ability to withstand winds, avoid flipping over, and always fading hard.

From Discraft there is the DRONE. The Drone has been a personal favorite of mine for years. Though maybe not the best wind-fighting disc, it is extremely reliable when it comes to making a turn around obstacles. It is my personal, go-to overstable midrange when I need predictability.

From Discmania there is the MD3.  Though not as overstable as some of the other discs on this list, it is a solid mid-range and is a favorite for those needing a consistent turn.

From Innova there is the ROC.  Let’s face it, Innova is a very popular brand, so there are a lot of players throwing a Roc for their overstable mid-range needs. The Roc can fly straight if you release it just right, but it has the expected fade at the end.  Again, it isn’t the most overstable disc on this list, but as a popular staple in many player’s bags, it earns a solid place on our list.

From Westside Discs there is the BARD.  Once again, this disc has a nice, straight flight as long as the velocity holds up, then hits a hard fade once the velocity dies down.  It is very useful for curving around obstacles, and you may even get a nice skip at the end of its flight.

From Legacy there is the GHOST.   Some players like the Ghost as an alternative to the popular Roc from Innova, but it is preferred in the more premium, Pinnacle plastic if you want the hard fade at the end of its flight.  That’s what we’re looking for– a hard, overstable fade.

From Hyzer Bomb there is the MOAB.  Though technically marketed as a control driver, I dare you to get any real distance out of this disc before it makes the turn.  It is one of the most beefy, overstable discs I’ve ever thrown, and it would certainly be a challenge to get it to fly very far before making that sharp, heavy-handed turn.  Sharp turns abound with the Moab, released this year.

From Millenium there is the Sentinel MF.  If you’re looking for a little more distance from your mid-range disc before it hits the fade, a lot of players love this classic disc.

From Gateway there is the Demon.   Though Gateway is most famous for their Wizard putters, they do claim one of the most overstable discs on the market with the Demon.  This disc should provide a very hard fade when you need to get around the obstacle in a short distance.

From Prodigy there is the A1.  Prodigy is becoming more and more popular with skilled players, and they’ve now introduced this interesting line of “A” series discs (A1, A2, and A3).  They are touted as the perfect crossover between a putter and a midrange disc. So, you won’t get a lot of distance with an A1 disc, but you will get a predictable fade.  So, consider the A1 or its brothers for that short shot to the basket when you need to approach from the side and fade into the chains.

Those are some of the overstable midrange discs worth trying out for your disc golfing needs. Feel free to recommend others in the comments!

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under General Tags: , , , , , , , ,
crazydisc2

Desert Island Discs

OK, we’ve all played this little game before. What if you were stuck on a desert island and you could only have “x” number of “x” items? Well, let’s relate this to disc golf and see what we come up with.  Here’s the question:

What if you were stranded on a desert island and could only have 5 discs in your bag?
1 Putter, 1 Midrange, 1 Fairway Driver (Control Driver), and 2 Distance Drivers?

I know some of you are shaking your head in disgust at the very thought, because you only play with three or four discs anyway.  But I know that most of you are already mentally digging through your bag, or your backpack, or your boxes stored in the basement, wondering how you could possibly get by with only five discs. I guess I’ve become something of a disc snob, because I now struggle with such a narrow selection. But if I had to pick only five discs, here are my choices and the reasons:

Disclaimer– This is NOT in any way an endorsement of any particular disc or brand, but merely a selection based on my own preferences, which change VERY frequently. Nothing distracts us from the old, faithful discs more than shiny new plastic!

Putter – Though I usually putt close range with a Banger GT I don’t think I’d want that on the island. Face it, I should be able to putt close range with pretty much anything, and heaven knows I’d have a lot of time to practice on a desert island. So, I think I’d go for something that works better for me at a longer distance, like the PA3.

Midrange – I’m tempted to take my Buzzz, because pretty much anybody can count on a Buzzz to fly straight as an all-purpose midrange, but I’m going to take my Drone instead, because I’ll use my fairway driver for my shorter straight drives, and I’ll need a Drone for very predictable, overstable turns.

Fairway Driver – For a nice control driver that I can throw straight at my target, or that I can turn left or right with a little angle in my wrist, I’m going to take my River. I admit, this is one of my shiny, new toys, so it gets the nod. Otherwise, I’d probably have stuck with my good, old XL which I can lazer-beam to any nearby target.

Distance Driver #1  – As my first of two distance drivers, I’m going to take my UnLace by Vibram, because I need to have at least one rubber disc in my limited bag. Plus, it is a very nice, understable disc which allows me to get a lot more distance with my mediocre arm than pretty much any other driver that I throw.

Distance Driver # 2 – And as my second distance driver, I’m going to do something crazy… I’m going to take a disc that I have not added to my bag yet, but that is always begging me to take it in my hand and throw is like a madman. I’m going to go with the Destiny by Westside Discs. Why would I take a disc that I don’t already know up and down? Well, I’m already taking some of those, but if I’m going to be stranded on a desert island for who knows how long, then I want something NEW. Besides, the Destiny is getting a lot of love these days from other players who claim that it is the best bomber out there. I’ll be able to work on my distance throws for days (assuming I have enough food to survive that long).  Let’s just hope it holds up in the sea breezes, otherwise, I’d probably be better off with a new Aquarius that floats in water, since the wind will likely carry my discs into the ocean waves.

Castaway

So, here’s my desert island disc list (though I’m sure it would change next month):

PA3
Drone
River
UnLace
Destiny

What are your desert island discs? Post it in the comments. I’d love to know what you would take with you, both old and new.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under General
IMG_20160412_092724

Great Discraft Discs for Beginners

I’ve always had a love for Discraft discs, possibly because they were the very first discs I purchased and explored when I started playing disc golf. They were the discs that I bought without knowing much about what I was looking for in a disc, so I learned their differences and tendencies mostly through trial and error. I’ve helped a lot of new players through the last few years learn how to play disc golf, primarily with Discraft discs. I feel quite confident about which ones will meet the challenges most commonly faced by new players, and which ones won’t.

I’ve since added some great discs to my arsenal from other manufacturers, but there are always some Discraft discs that work their way into every round I play. For the experienced players out there, this article may not be as useful, but I hope that some of the newer players who are only recently discovering the joys of disc golf will find it helpful.

One of the first mistakes of new disc golf players is when they base their disc choices on things that are not very helpful to their game in the early stages. For example, when I was a new player I used a flight chart to make some poor choices because nobody explained to me that discs don’t necessarily follow a designed path if you don’t know how to throw them correctly. For example, I was struggling with distance, like most new players do, so I looked for a disc that was the biggest bomber I could spot on the chart. I picked up a Nuke disc and thought my game would jump to a whole new level because I finally had a long-distance driver. However, once I threw that disc, I found that it fell over much faster, and at a much shorter distance than the other discs I’d been throwing. I figured I must have purchased a dud. I achieved less distance than before! The disc wasn’t a dud. Nukes are great, but not for somebody who hasn’t yet learned how to throw, and who doesn’t have the technique or experience to really sling it as fast as is must travel to stay airborne.

New players often select discs which are the “prettiest” on the shelf. Yes, there is something to be said for very attractive plastics and shiny, unique stamp designs. But that doesn’t make the disc necessarily a good choice for a beginner. Another deciding factor for many new players is the disc price. If you’re the type of person who looks for the highest price so that you’ll own “only the best”, then it might actually work against you. The high price (just like the pretty artwork) isn’t going to make it fly right if you don’t yet have the proper technique. However, if you’re somebody who likes saving money, then your choice in picking up the less expensive plastics, like the Pro-D discs by Discraft, may just work in your favor.

Why start with Pro-D, or Elite X plastics when buying Discraft? Just a quick note– these are plastic types, not disc types. Each disc is made in more than one kind of plastic, and those plastics vary in price and in their flight tendencies. Pro-D is the cheapest, and least durable, while Elite X is a step up, and other plastics like Elite Z or Titanium represent the most expensive, durable side of the spectrum. Why would I ask you to start with the cheap stuff? Well, quite frankly, you’re going to beat these things up, and often the cheaper plastics fly a little easier with weaker, less experienced arms. Think of it as that $150 guitar, made-in-China, that you buy when you’re learning to play, before you drop $1200 on a really nice instrument. Think of it as that old pick-up truck you learn to drive before you spend the big bucks on a real nice machine. Trust me…you are going to love these things, and then you’re going to leave them.

The very first disc that I purchased was a Discraft XL in Pro-D plastic, and I threw it for the first time on a very rugged course. It flew only a short distance and crashed into the rocks of a dry creek bed. When I picked it up, I noticed that it already had a prominent gash on the edge. “What a cheap, worthless frisbee,” I complained. But I kept throwing it. At least it hadn’t cost me $18 like some of the pretty ones I’d looked at. I still own that disc today as a keepsake.

So, don’t worry about the cheap price. I’m not trying to lead you astray. You can move on to the pretty stuff later. Some of Discraft’s Pro-D plastic discs actually have a different, straighter flight path rating than their more durable, expensive counterparts. I was attracted to the Pro-D XL not only because it was cheap, but because it has a Discraft stability rating of “0”. That means that it is not designed to fade quickly. I throw with my right arm, almost entirely backhand. That means that as a beginner, pretty much everything I threw fell quickly to my left. A left-handed player throwing backhand would see a fade to the right. Those directions switch for forehand throwers. So, a stability rating of zero means that the disc is intended and designed to fly straight.

Of course, the disc will still drop to one side or the other depending on your release. One of the first things you must learn is how to release the disc flat so that the disc flies as intended. If you release it with your wrist cocked one direction or the other, then your release will change the flight path. But how will you know if it is your release, or the disc that is causing the resulting turns, unless you throw a disc that is not meant to turn? That is why I recommend a zero, or a disc with a very slight turn rating. Get that thing to fly straight for a while before you start worrying about which discs will do which tricks. If you were to start with something like a Flick, a Drone, or a Predator, then you will not know when you’ve learned to throw straight because you’ll be fighting against the disc’s designed tendency to turn sharply. You shouldn’t have to fight the disc as you’re learning to throw correctly.

A Pro-D XL is a good starter as far as distance drivers are concerned. Others would include the Pro-D Avenger SS, or in Elite X plastic you could do well with an XPress or Status which are both understable and will resist that natural fade (a real plus for beginners). Also, an XS in Elite X will give you a little fade after allowing some nice distance first. All of those are good drivers to get you going, though none of them are designed for maximum distance– a good thing when you’re a beginner. In fact, many players argue that the best discs for beginners are actually midrange discs rather than distance drivers.

Discraft is very well known for their midrange discs. These are discs that are designed for shorter drives, or for approaches to the basket. They are not built for distance, but for predictable, shorter flight paths. The edge grip also feels more natural to early players who may only be accustomed to traditional frisbees. One of the best-selling midrange discs for several years is the Buzzz. Even better for beginners is the Buzzz SS which again has a stability rating of zero. The Comet is also a good one, and in the harder plastic still has a stability rating of zero. The Meteor is understable which again helps compensate for the natural turn tendencies in newer players. Picking up one or two of any of those three midrange discs will do wonders in developing your short game, which is much more important in the initial learning stages than throwing the length of a football field. What good is a long throw if it is headed in the wrong direction?

Once you’ve developed your throwing technique enough to be the master of the cheap, straight-flying discs that I’ve recommended here, then you can graduate into discs that have highter turn/stability ratings that will help you steer around obstacles and fly in beautiful S-curves. For example, the Pro-D XL has a turn rating of zero, but once you get that thing to fly right, you’ll be ready to graduate to an Elite Z XL which actually has a stability rating of 1.5. The Avenger SS will move from a .5 rating up to 1.0 and higher as you move to more durable plastics. But by then, you’ll be able to keep those discs flying longer before they finally fade, because you’ll have the release and the experience to do so. I still use discs like the XL, XS, and Buzzz in my bag, but all in durable Elite Z plastic. I also have other great Discraft discs like a Nuke, Nuke SS, Predator, Drone, and Surge. I know exactly when to use them, because I know how they’ll fly if I set them free with just the right touch. I’ve graduated to the more expensive discs, because now they work with me, instead of making things seem more difficult.

In conclusion, when starting your game, don’t be tricked into thinking you can buy some high-priced, high-rated secret weapon that will take away the learning curve. Go ahead and get the cheap stuff so you can work out the basics. The learning curve for disc golf is very short anyway, so within a few games, you’ll be controlling those cheap discs and you’ll be able to enjoy each game until those discs are dented, dirtied, and loved. Then retire them and move on. Other manufacturers have similar, less expensive plastics that are also great for beginners. Innova has DX plastic that is great for a starter. My focus here has been on Discraft, but we can look at other brands in the future and learn which discs are best for the beginning player.

(note: Click on the disc names to see examples on Infinitediscs.com)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under General

New Backpack Bags from Dynamic Discs

Dynamic Discs just announced the release of two new backpack style bags. With Dynamics past bag experience, these two items will be hot sellers for the summer of 2016.

RangerH203Dynamic Discs Ranger H20

The first bag, the Ranger H2O is an enhanced version of the ultra popular Ranger bag. This bag has the same general shape and look but with a few added upgrades, all of which are centered around “H20”:

  1. The first upgrade will help reduce water damage and overall bag life and durability. The bottom of every H20 Ranger bag is lined with plastic that goes up 4 inches along the sides.
  2. The second water upgrade is a rain-fly designed to help keep your discs dry during those rainy tournament rounds. Unlike some of the rain covers from other disc golf bags, the rain hood of the H2O is designed so that you can still easily remove your discs while the rain fly is on.
  3. The third water related upgrade is the Camelbak like water bladder that is included in the bag. The H2O includes a removable 2 liter water bladder and accompanying straw. Keep yourself hydrated without having to pull a water bottle out of the pocket. The cool water bladder pouch rests against your upper back which can also provide a cooling effect without even drinking the water. While the H2O has the bladder/straw, it also has 1 or 2 side pocket water bottle holders, depending on if you want to use one of the pockets for storage for a stool. This bag sounds absolutely perfect for a 4th of July tournament in 100 degree weather.
  4. The additional upgrades don’t have anything to do with water, but they do help make the new Ranger more appealing than the previous models. The bag includes a “quick access” sleeve above the main disc storage compartment where you can quickly and easily grab your favorite disc. The side pocket has also been expanded compared with the Regular Ranger bag.

The Ranger H20 can be purchased for $224.99

Sniper-Backpack-Light-GrayDynamic Discs Sniper

The second new Dynamic Discs bag, the Sniper is currently the least expensive disc golf backpack on the market. Like all the other DD bags, the Sniper is made by Ogio so despite its low price point, this bag will still be of high quality. The Sniper is a simple bag that holds a moderate (16) amount of discs. This bag doesn’t have a lot of bells and whistles, but it has the necessities: place to store your discs, water bottle holders, storage for other useful items during a disc golf round. The bag sidewall contains a handy pocket to store your mini marker disc, scorecard, and pencil.

Most importantly, the Sniper is in Backpack style which is a “must have” for any serious disc golfer today. It accomplishes the same general purpose of any other bag on the market, but the big difference between this and others is the price tag..

The Dynamic Discs Sniper is available for $69.99

Dynamic Discs Commander

Within the next few weeks, Dynamic discs will also be releasing the Commander Backpack. This backpack will be the middle version of the other new releases. It will have a few more features than the Sniper, but not all the luxuries of the Ranger H2O. The estimated price point of the new Commander Backpack is about $130.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under Bags,New Products Tags: ,

Top 5 Christmas Gifts For Your Disc Golfer

Christmas shopping can be really difficult. It’s not the effort, the money, or the wrapping that makes it difficult, but it’s deciding what to get your loved ones that can cause so much frustration during this time of year. Luckily, we are here to help. Here is our definitive list of the best things to get your disc golfer this Christmas.

1. An Infinite Discs Gift Card

If your disc golfer is anything like me, they like to be able to pick out the weight, color, plastic, and specific look of their disc before they buy it. While we all love the thought and effort that went into you choosing discs for us, it’s a real shame to have to send them back or trade them with someone else for the disc we really wanted. Save you and your disc golfer the hassle and worry about upsetting you, and buy them a gift card for discs on infinitediscs.com. 

2. Load them up with new releases

There are a ton of new discs that came out just in time for Christmas, and Infinite has them all in stock. Check out the Innova Christmas discs, or grab one of the new Warrants from Dynamic Discs. These new discs are great for any disc golfer and look great on Christmas morning. If these don’t catch your eye, take a look at the highest selling discs on Infinite Discs this year by checking out this list. These are discs every disc golfer needs in their bag and can easily be found at infinitediscs.com.

3. A Large Bag and some new discs

Every disc golfer could use a new bag from time to time. Bags get a lot of use, and the right bag can save your disc golfer from achy backs and arms and tired shoulders. You can find all kinds of bags on the infinitediscs.com website, but what we most recommend is the Infinite Large Bag with a set of backpack straps. This bag is economically priced while still maintaining its high quality. Throwing in the backpack straps makes it easy and enjoyable to carry around. Throwing in some extra discs is sure to bring an extra smile upon opening.

4. An Infinite Deals Box

One of the best deals around, an Infinite Deals Box comes with 7 discs from various brand with putters, mid-ranges, and drivers already in the bag. If it seems like your disc golfer has everything, buy them one of these and let them try out some new stuff. It’s a great and economical way to get a lot of discs for a low price.

5. Buy them a putting basket

Really help your disc golfer step up their game with a putting basket for the backyard. Nothing on this list will help them improve more than having access to their own basket all the time. The portable baskets on the Infinite Discs website will allow them to work on many different shots without every leaving the yard.

If you know what you want and it isn’t on this list, be sure to check out www.infinitediscs.com for great prices and awesome service on every brand of disc, bag, basket and more.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Posted under General

Tobu Charge Review

When I first saw the Tobu Kickstarter campaign, I was pretty excited. I love the potential that GPS discs have. For me, the most frustrating part of disc golf is spending time trying to find your discs. If a “lost disc” can be more easily found, I’m all about that.

This disc arrived at the perfect time as I was able to test and use it while we were exploring potential layouts for a new disc golf course in a heavily overgrown area. While there were many discs lost in the thick brush and weeds of this potential new course, the Charge was not one of them thanks to the GPS technology.

While I am a big fan of the Tobu Charge in theory, the actual performance of the Kickstarter version of the Charge leaves something to be desired.

My first issue with the Charge is with the actual flight of the disc itself. This is a moderately overstable fairway driver that I really struggled to get any distance out of when throwing backhand. A disc with the Charge’s stability could have a place in my bag, as a utility disc, but it is too overstable to use as an every throw type disc — which is exactly what I used it for on my extremely overgrown course. For forehand throws, the Charge actually performed pretty well for me. I’m not sure if the bulky GPS and battery pack attached to the underside of the disc has a negative effect on disc glide, but the Charge didn’t ever get quite as much distance as I though I should be able to get from it.

Tobu has a mobile app completely dedicated for use of the Tobu discs. The app is still in it’s infancy and right now it has a lot to be desired before I’d consider using it as my score keeping app. The biggest initial downfall of the app is that it does not include any of my local courses. It does have some nice features like the ability to measure shots and map out courses. After playing around with the app for a little while and finding nothing about it that would be more beneficial to me than UDisc, my only real use for it is activating the Radar screen to find lost discs.

Not only is there a Radar screen on the app that gives you an approximate distance too your disc, but there is also a button where you can activate a beeping sound. This is a great feature, but the actual beeping noise emitted is pretty pathetic. When outside of about 20 feet it is almost inaduible. Even once you are within hearing range of the beep, it is hard to pinpoint the actual location of the disc. If you’re looking to find discs based soley off of the beeping sound, the Disc Beeper is a much better finding solution.

Another issue I had with the charge is its battery life. When I went to use it for the second time, the battery was already dead. I replaced it with another battery which lasted a little longer, but still probably only worked for five rounds of use over a one month period. While 3V batteries can be relatively cheap, the last thing you want when you pull out your “easy to find” disc is for the very feature that makes it “easy to find” to not work on those risky blind shots in thick vegetation.

Through conversation with Tobu, it sounds like they are working to remedy the issues with the initial release. They have also released a new, more understable disc, the Kyng Roller which will likely provide a much better option for newer disc golfers looking for an all purpose GPS disc.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 7.0/10 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Posted under Disc Golf Disc Reviews,Fairway Drivers,General Tags: , ,
1 2 3 17